Skip to content

getting my feet wet

August 7, 2010

Well.  Shall we just start with a few random food pictures and my descriptions of what I can remember going on in them?  Ok then!

ice that is not frozen is just water. that's science, kids.

I made these berry ice cubes (heretofore renamed ‘berrycubes’) for my friend Becca.  Becca and I have weekly (when we don’t suck at life) cooking sessions where we usually drink far too much and cook vegan food over the course of an evening.  Sometimes the food is spectacular, like last week, and other times it is terrible, like the week before.  Anyway, last week, Becca mentioned to me that she wanted to make ice cubes with berries inside them for drinks.  That was right up my alley, so I set about making 2 trays worth of berrycubes, which was fun.  I brought them over to her house that night, but she didn’t have any liquor, so we didn’t use them in anything.  We did drink some high life and pbr, though.  Don’t worry.  Still, she was thrilled, and I’m thrilled that she’s thrilled and I’m keeping my fingers crossed that there’s some berrycubes left for our meetup this week.  That’s right, folks, I can’t even review these for you because I haven’t tried them.  Pretty though, aren’t they?

disaster averted.

Ah, this.  This is a save.  You know, when you mess something up really bad, but it has some sort of potential and you become hell-bent on fixing it or making it into something else.  Is this just me?  I cannot be the only person who made the couscous with capers and tomatoes from the Veganomicon and put way too many cloves in it and then refused to throw it out but instead ate it for lunch the rest of the week with varying levels of hot sauce and nutritional yeast added.  No?  Well, that’s another story for another day (and the beginning of my clove hatred).  This is, instead, the story of getting drunk with Becca 2 weeks ago and making this raw corn/blueberry salad and me deciding that it needed 3 jalapenos instead of one.  Normally, I am a fan of the spicy.  These peppers, however, are the spiciest I’ve ever had…for jalapenos (sorry, cannot figure out just now how to get the tilda over my ‘n’).

So, it was too spicy to eat.  We figured that out within one bite.  Ouch.  But I would not let her throw it out, oh no.  I took it home and pondered.  It needed something to take up a lot of space in between the peppers.  And it needed a cooling agent.  Therefore, I made it into a coleslaw.  Just added some cabbage and thinly sliced bell peppers (didn’t have any carrots), then some lemon juice and a boatload of Vegenaise.  And it was good!  I honestly surprised myself with this one.  I normally don’t even like coleslaw, but the spicy + the sweet from the blueberries took it to another level.  I might even try to do it again on purpose some day.

still trying to get rid of those jalapenos.

I’m not sure why they sold me around 20 of those hellfire peppers at the farmers market.  I’m not even sure what anyone, really, would do with that many of them.  But they were one dollar for them all.  What was I going to do?  Haggle?  Hey, gimme 3 of those for 20 cents, yeah?  Sorry, not in my personality type to do that.  I’ll ask for a deal on more of something (like when I needed a ton of basil to make and freeze pesto last week), but not less.  I feel bad.  And I always think that I’ll just figure it out.  Which is why I have 3 mini cucumbers wilting away in the bottom of my crisper along with around 4 more of those stupid jalapenos.

Anyway, jalepenos seemed like a good thing to add to cornbread.  I have made the cornbread from Veganomicon several times (and loved it), but never added anything to it.  Naturally, I also had 3 ears of corn slowly dying that needed used up.  So.  Loosely basing my recipe on an amalgamation of the optional add-ins, I made jalapeno-onion-double corn-cornbread.

This is what got added into the batter before returning it all to the skillet and baking it up.  I love my cast iron skillet, by the way.  My only complaint, which is admittedly a stupid one, is that it is too darned heavy.  I had to take this mix out of the skillet to fold it into the batter and it was a serious problem  Well, my wimpy arms are a serious problem.  I obviously need a third one (think Zaphod-style) for lifting this heavy bitch.  Anyway, I finally figured it out without dropping too much of my add-ins onto the floor.  And, dudes, it was awesome.

um, yum!

Also, believe me, it’s hella spicy!  I put 3 jalapenos in there, thinking they would somehow release some of their heat from cooking them (which!  by the way!  literally choked me!  the evil death gas they emitted while cooking actually drove me out of the kitchen!).  Nah.  They’re just as hot.  It’s still really tasty though.

second piece, please and thanks.

It’s even tastier with some avocado.  Which got mushed up on the top as soon as this picture was taken.  4 other people have tried this cornbread, so I can give you a sort of review here.  My omnivore boyfriend said it was ‘pretty good’.  If you knew him, you’d know that is practically jumping up and down with excitement for him.  My friend Becca loved it, as did her boyfriend.  And my buddy Michelle seemed to like it as well.  These are all people who generally don’t lie about things to make other people feel good, so I’m giving it a positive review.

Now I feel all wimpy because it sounds like I can’t handle a few jalapenos or spice in my life.  I just want you all to know that those jalapenos had superstrength.  They were from Krypton or some such place.  (you weren’t there, man!  you don’t even know!, etc)

Well.  That felt nice.  I’m supposed to be making baba ganoush right now, but that’s obviously not going to happen until tomorrow.  If it’s not too hideous, you’ll hear about it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2010 7:19 pm

    Hi my name is Lora and I have a small group on Facebook. I am looking for people who love cooking and love to share with others.

    I came across your page and saw that you have an interest in cooking just like me. I wanted to email you, but I do not see a way to do that just to leave a comment.

    If you would like to join my group on FB I would be happy to have you. You may post your cooking videos, photos, and ingredients of what ever you choose.

    This is my FB group link: http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=100981263293737&ref=ts

    The group name is “What Sha Cooking?”

  2. Ruth permalink
    August 7, 2010 11:22 pm

    beautiful works of art and recipes that I will soon try!

  3. August 8, 2010 11:43 am

    Great to see you around again! That cornbread is super delish looking! I love anything in a cast iron skillet, especially cornbread since it gets all crusty on all the edges. mmm. And the berry cubes are super awesome too!

  4. August 8, 2010 4:00 pm

    Haha, I love/hate my cast iron skillet because of it’s weight too! Some serious yumminess here! I haven’t had cornbread in so long. Mmmm.

  5. August 11, 2010 7:58 am

    agreed about the cast iron’s weight. other complaint: cleaning it. some people argue it’s easier because you don’t have to wash it with soap, yada, yada, yada…but i have a hard time not using soap to clean something and then you have to oil and heat to dry (the latter part i don’t actually do, but my sister does).

    those berrycubes look awesome!

    i love your humor and wish that i could hang out with you.

    have you had the Southsomethingorother Corn Pudding from V’con? so good! pretty sure there’s jalapenos in there.

    • August 11, 2010 1:34 pm

      i scrub mine with steel wool under hot water, then dry it with a towel, then oil it. it’s a process, but if you do it right after you empty it (believe me, not in my nature, but…it must be done to avoid further frustration), it’s easier. still have not had any of those berrycubes! and the corn pudding from vcon stuck to my teeth, so i never made it again. also! it would be so rad to have more vegans to hang out with in real life. i only have one! can you believe it?

Leave a Reply

