Skip to content

it’s too hot to cook.

August 11, 2010

I mean, seriously.  It was 100 degrees here today!  And don’t forget that my town is one of the most humid places on Earth.  Blegh.  So who wants to turn on the stove?  Not this chica.  Hot weather is all about raw, raw, raw.  A little bit of chopping.  Some stirring.  There will be plenty of time for me to roast that beautiful butternut squash I got at the farmers market.  For now, I’d rather survive on cold stuff.

so little effort involved.

This is a curried tofu salad I make when I realize I’ve not eaten enough protein in the past few days.  Usually I prefer my tofu scrambled or marinated and baked, but if you add enough junk to cold tofu, it flavors it just as well.  As usual, no recipes (unless I someday miraculously decide to start measuring and writing things down), but here’s the idea:  a block of tofu, squeezed of most of the water and crumbled; nooch; tahini; onion powder; garlic powder; a minced scallion; lemon juice; salt; lots and lots and lots of madras and regular curry powder; hot sauce.  Then mix, mix, mix until it’s uniform and sort of creamy looking.  I really enjoy this on toast, but even the toaster oven is too much effort for me right now, so.  Whole wheat wrap it is.  The snow peas (or are those sugar snap?  I can never remember which is which.) add a sweetness and crunch so it’s not just all mush in your mouth.

summer summer summer. on bread.

I had around 5 tomatoes slowly going bad on my countertop and a nice bit of basil leftover from my pesto freezing frenzy (so much pesto.  you know you can freeze it in ice cube trays, right?  awesome stuff learned from my mom.).  They both needed used up.  I also happened to have some roasted garlic bread in the fridge…time for bruschetta.  This was perfection.  Cut up tomatoes, sliver basil, add a little olive oil and salt…done.  I minced up one scallion and put it in there too.  Since I was putting this bruschetta on bread that had whole cloves of garlic baked into it, I didn’t want to go overboard on the garlic/onion aspect, which is pivotal to good bruschetta.  Anyway, I did use my toaster oven to toast the bread for this, but usually only enough to get the fridge chill off it.  I’m terribly impatient.  Especially when delicious bruschetta is involved.

bowl of crunch.

This is a raw broccoli salad my friend Becca and I made on one of our cooking adventures.  It’s fabulous.  I’ve been waiting for broccoli to go on sale so I could make it again and it finally did, so I threw this together (in about 8 minutes, at the most).  And, luckily for you, I actually have a recipe for it, since she gave it to me and it’s so easy that I memorized it.

Raw Broccoli Salad

1 head of broccoli, cut into small florets (smaller than my pic shows, that was hard to eat)

2-3 cloves garlic, finely minced

couple handfuls of raisins

couple handfuls of almonds, slivered or chopped up

2 Tbsp maple syrup

2 Tbsp olive oil

2 Tbsp white wine vinegar

salt to taste

Just mix that all together.  It’s wonderful.  Nicely sweet with a lovely tang from the vinegar (and I’m a vinegar-phobe, so it must be good).  Crunchy.  Not too oily.  And, most importantly, cold.  Also!  My omnivore boyfriend actually ate 2 bowls of this!  He added a little more vinegar to his, but that’s understandable, since he likes the vin.  That’s, like, a 5+ rating on his scale, since he said it was pretty good and ate it.  I was rather pleased with myself.  (It doesn’t hurt that broccoli is his favorite vegetable.)

watermelon for one

Here’s the thing.  What does a person do with a whole watermelon?  I used 1/4 of it in a watermelon salad (the one from VegTimes farmers market cookbook edition, and it was really good!).  This is another 1/4.  It’s so sweet and cold and delicious…  Now to figure out what to do with the other half.  I guess I could just eat it, yeah?  Anyway, duh, watermelon is an awesome summer snack.  It’s super filling, too.  And, apparently, it has a bunch of iron in or something else super good for you in it.  Neat!  (Research is not for me right now, sorry.)

is it possible to photograph baba ghannuj so it doesn't look like cat vomit?

Really, what a gross picture.  But!  This is the second time ever that I have cooked eggplant and it hasn’t grossed me out.  Every summer I keep buying eggplants at the farmers market, hoping that I’ll finally figure it out like they have at the Indian restaurant in town.  And I never do.  This time I was determined though.  That VegTimes special edition had loads of eggplant recipes (none of which look appetizing to me on second glance), but also this Vegetarian Journal magazine that I picked up on a whim back in May has 3 pages of recipes for the nasty things.  I figured I should just make the baba ghannuj since I love tahini and hopefully baking it to mush would make it taste better.  It worked!  Granted, I had to turn on my stove to bake the eggplants for over an hour, but I only had to go in the kitchen and turn them once every 20 minutes or so.  So it wasn’t like real cooking.  (If you’re curious about the mag I mentioned, it’s Vol. 29, Issue 2 and the recipe is on page 24.)

Oh!  My friend Joel told me that eggplants are male or female and that you can tell the difference between them and that one has that awful soapy taste that makes me gag and the other does not.  I refuse to go back through my text messages right now to see which one it is, but you should google it if you’re interested.  Also, it wasn’t the best idea to just eat this in a wrap.  All that gooey texture at once kinda made my tummy turn.  But I used it as a dip last night and that was good.  And I added it to the falafel I got from Pita Pit today and that was good too.  Yay!  A reason to buy eggplants!

repeat

This is just to prove that I really am too hot and lazy to cook.  I wanted to make pesto tofu scramble tonight for dinner, but instead I made that cole slaw I told you about last post.  On purpose!  I only added one of those evil jalapenos, and it’s so ridiculously hot that I keep having to put it aside and let my throat and belly cool down before I eat more.  It makes me feel like a wimp, but then I remind myself that these peppers are an enigma and I’m tougher than that, usually.  Also, this time I added some minced fresh oregano and it really tied it together!  It just occurred to me that I’m basically eating vegenaise covered veggies for dinner.  Gross.

And, finally, this:

!!!

I was alerted to the existence of the pallas cat today.  And I am obsessed.  They look so wise!  And almost human-like!  Like ewoks and monkeys and sheep and bobcats all combined into one awesome creature!  Can I have this in my house, please?

p.s. WordPress spellcheck is ridiculous.  It doesn’t know what tahini is.  And it got caught up on my pluralizing jalapeno.  Actually, there’s a red line under most of my cooking mumbo jumbo.  Must not have been made for food blogs, eh?  Guess I’m going to have to fend for myself in the spelling arena here.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2010 4:12 am

    Oh my gosh, that cat DOES look wise! Kind of like the Cheshire cat. All your foods of late look lovely! I actually thought the baba ganoush looked good until I read your description 🙂 Yum to Pita Pit! Oh, and those are snow peas. Sugar snap peas are fat, snow peas are skinny.

    • August 11, 2010 1:36 pm

      haha, sorry to ruin the baba ghannuj for you. (i hate spelling it this way, but my recipe did, so now i feel like i have to. your spelling of it feels much more natural to me. but i’m stubborn.) and thank you for the clarification on the peas!

  2. August 11, 2010 1:59 pm

    You eat way better than I do when it’s miserably hot and humid. All of this looks wonderful!

  3. August 12, 2010 12:47 pm

    All of the food looks delicious, but especially the tomatoes on the bruschetta! So red and pretty! Perfect for a hot day.

  4. August 23, 2010 1:19 am

    I want all that food, everything looks great.

    And that cat is amazing, I’m going to google it now!

  5. Becks ~ Not a Rabbit permalink
    September 1, 2010 1:56 pm

    You’re back! Yaaaaaay! I just saw a comment you left over at Wing-It Vegan and got so excited that you were back! 😀

    Thank you for introducing me to the wonder of the Pallas Cat, I am in love! I will be spending my afternoon googling more info and pics of these incredible, gorgeous, wise looking little creatures! ❤

    Welcome back, I missed you!

  6. September 26, 2010 7:09 pm

    That cat does look wise!!!
    Your food photography makes my tummy rumble!

Trackbacks

  1. I Continue to Have a Cookbook Addiction! « Awesome. Vegan. Rad.

Leave a Reply

