Skip to content

Day 2: In which the omnivore boyfriend helps cook.

November 3, 2010

So!  Day 2!  If I’m lucky, I’ll get this in before my time zone ends (midnight).  If not, I’ll get it in before the Central folks.  Still.

Recently, I’ve being trying to get the omnivore boyfriend to cook and eat with me.  This started as a whim and has kind of become a really awesome thing where he is really liking the food we make together.  This is important to me because A) he doesn’t ever really seem to care about food or how awesome it is and B) because cooking is one of my favorite activities and I like to share it with the person I love.  So I asked him to please pick out a recipe (so I know he can’t say he hates it because even if he does then it’s his fault, right?).  This first time, he didn’t.  But, relying on what I know about him (he likes broccoli.  and pasta.), I picked out this recipe from Urban Vegan, Orecchiette con Broccoli.

boyfriend pleaser!

I had just gotten out of yoga and he was slightly unprepared, so I went and got some broccoli and (not orecchiete) campanelle (they didn’t have any orecchiette!).  The recipe works just as well with any small, chunky pasta.  Luckily, I had everything else I needed at home, though it really depleted my olive oil supply.  It was everything that pasta needs:  olive oil.  garlic.  spice.  broccoli.  more olive oil.  And, to top it off, some nutritional yeast.

We ended up having a lovely time cooking together, and he loved the pasta!  It was honestly one of the first vegan things cooked in our kitchen since we got together that he really loved.  Don’t lose hope, daters of omnivores!  Just make them pick the recipe (or make something with ingredients you know they’ll love).  We drank wine, he was able to do the things I have no patience for (cook garlic on low for 10 minutes) and it all worked out mightily lovely.

All in all, I have to say that it gives a vegan girl some hope.  Stay tuned for the next installment, where he actually picked out the recipe that I would never choose for myself that we both loved.  It makes fantasy look like real life.  Or something.

WordPress spellcheck fun:  It does not like the names of Italian pasta.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2010 4:02 am

    I too am always trying to get my man in the kitchen with me. It’s hard when you have a picky omni to cook for…luckily lately he has been open to trying new things and has actually started to take a liking to making meals with me!

  2. November 3, 2010 12:38 pm

    blogger’s spell check cracks me up, it doesn’t like the words brussel (sprouts), scrumptrulescent, or fantastical. ah ha ha! i understand on scrumptrulescent though. speaking of scrumtrulescent, Urban Vegan’s pasta dish sounds awesome (why don’t have her cookbook is beyond me) – and looks soooooo gooooood! olive oil, garlic, and more olive oil are things i love – then you add broccoli, pasta, ‘n nooch to it. hells yeah! that kicks ass you got the boy to not only cook with you, but help with the parts you don’t care for (i have no patience for things that require mucho stirring, and that’s where dan comes in) – and that you both loved what you cooked up together. that. rocks. hard. also awesome – wine (and Vegan MoFo). yay!

  3. November 3, 2010 6:44 pm

    Sounds like a great evening! Your pictures are always so pretty.

  4. Vegannifer permalink
    November 3, 2010 6:49 pm

    How fun! I’m quite envious; my kitchen is so small there’s no way my husband and I could ever cook together!

  5. November 3, 2010 7:42 pm

    Cooking together can be so much fun! That’s so cool the omni bf is getting interested.

    That’s a great pasta dish. Orechiette can be really hard to find here, too.

  6. November 4, 2010 3:06 pm

    Sounds like so much fun. I can’t get my husband to help me cook if his life depended on it. Mostly because I’d probably kill him.

Leave a Reply

