Skip to content

Day 3: In which Jessica remembers that baking is fun.

November 3, 2010

Before I was vegan, I spent a summer at home that I baked twice a week. Remember that, Mom and Dad? How I made cookies and pound cake and bundt cakes and brownies and all sorts of ridiculous sweets that summer? They loved it. Mostly I think my grandma loved it, though. When I was little, my grandma was always baking. There were always sugar cookies or cakes around. I believe I was channeling her that summer, much to her delight. I mean, I could just face it: I have the baking gene. I’m good at it. But when I became vegan, I lost my sweet tooth. Long gone are the days where I yearn for something sweet every day.

And so my baking fell by the wayside a bit.

But then…savory baked goods entered my life. Don’t get me wrong, I love to bake bread, and would all the time, but sometimes I really don’t have the patience to knead and let things rise. I’m a muffin kind of girl. Holy mother nature, I love muffins. Combine my love of muffins with my love of savory things with a pinch of my love of baking and then another pinch of high quality crushed red pepper and you get…

;

my little pal

;

Spicy Chick-Wheat muffins are my absolute favorite savory muffins, and it’s no surprise that they come from the lovely Celine at Have Cake, Will Travel. The recipe I used is indexed on her site here. However, if you have 500 Vegan Recipes, the recipe (doubled, I believe) is in there as well. The use of garbanzo flour and garam masala make them reminiscent of falafel, and they are quite spicy, which I adore. They’re good with any sort of meal that has a sauce for you to sop up (particularly noochy sauces mmm). I prefer to eat them for breakfast though. I’m not a sweet cereal in the morning person (although I do enjoy the occasional Clif Bar), and so to be able to grab a quick and delicious muffin that doesn’t taste like pie or cake is perfect for me.

The omnivore boyfriend enjoyed his first bite, but then said his subsequent bites ‘just tasted like bread’. Don’t listen to him. He’s wacky. You will love them, I just know it. My only bit of advice is to keep the leftovers in the fridge, because I only got to eat half of my batch before they got a case of the science projects 3 days later.

I do have another baking project this month involving mini-somethingorothers that will probably be sweet that most likely will go to my co-workers. Or maybe I’ll just make a mini batch of these and keep them all to myself. Mini savory muffins, you guys! Imagine!

;

WordPress spellcheck fun: it doesn’t like baking terms any more than it likes cooking terms (knead? bundt? really?).

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2010 1:55 am

    mmmm that looks like the perfect little snack 🙂

  2. November 4, 2010 2:08 am

    Celine always has such good recipes!

  3. November 4, 2010 2:50 am

    I really want to start baking savoury items, the last muffins I tried were a failure and went bad within a few days.

  4. November 4, 2010 2:51 am

    That looks pretty tasty!

    Yeah, blogspot wasn’t liking my “bundt” cake post just now, either. Fail.

    Jes

  5. November 4, 2010 3:15 am

    ooh, savory muffins. i want to try those right now.

  6. November 4, 2010 3:50 am

    You’re going to have to start typing in LOLspeak to get wordpress to understand what you’re saying! Wurdprez haz a dumb.

    Muffins are the bomb! I hardly bake big baking-powder breads because they take way too long to cook and they’re not nearly as fun to eat as muffins are. Mini foods rule!

  7. November 4, 2010 4:59 am

    I LOVE baking – it’s the ultimate kitchen witchery.

  8. November 4, 2010 9:08 am

    This was a useful information thank you very much…….

  9. November 4, 2010 3:07 pm

    That muffin looks sensational!

  10. November 4, 2010 4:35 pm

    Mmm, savory muffins! Those look like a perfect afternoon snack.

Leave a Reply

