Skip to content

Day 4: In which Jessica uses her oven a lot.

November 4, 2010

The same day that I made the muffins from the previous post, I basically decided to just use the heck out of my oven all day.  I think it was on for…3 hours straight.  At least.  What else did I make, you ask?  Well, for one, I roasted up these bad boys:

 

i ate this entire family of turnips. i am a monster.

 

I cut up a small onion and loads of garlic to accompany them, then tossed it all in some olive oil, salt, pepper, and dried thyme.  Some of these had been laying lazily about for a little while, so they were a teeny bit bitter, but that’s nothing that a load of salt won’t cure.  No?  Whatever, you didn’t have to eat them.  Elitist.

I was just going to eat these with the muffins alone, but common sense told me that I needed something green, so out of the freezer came some beaten up frozen broccoli bits.  Accompanied by one of the super easy cheeze sauces from The Ultimate Uncheese Cookbook, it was a simple and delicious meal.  Also, the chick-wheat muffins were perfect for sopping up the extra sauce.

 

molten cheeze.

 

I never was one for cheesy broccoli or broccoli cheese soup as a kid, but I did like this pairing.  This particular sauce uses garbanzo flour (go figure, I don’t use any for months on end, then end up using it twice in one day in two different recipes.  life.) and so there is a different depth of flavor that I really enjoyed.

And finally, I had some apples going bad in my fridge, so I peeled them, cut out the bad bits, and threw them in a dish with some maple syrup, nutmeg, and cinnamon…then just forgot about them in the oven until I could smell them.  Perfect dessert!

Ok, so it’s a rather ugly dessert, but it’s fat-free and easy and I bet if I would have remembered about the leftovers, they would have been really awesome mixed in with oatmeal.

Now that it’s finally cold (seriously, November hit and it went from a ridiculous 80 degrees every day to an equally ridiculous low 50s every day), I shall be using my oven more and more.  Oh, yes.  Casserole season.  At long last…

 

WordPress spellcheck fun: no, I do not mean ‘time’ when I type ‘thyme’.  Does WordPress not realize how many food blogs it hosts?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2010 7:15 pm

    i used to think i was the only person who enjoyed turnips ’cause i never met anyone who’d ever eaten them. people would look at me kinda sideways-like with their face all scrunched up like they licked some crepe party streamer (seriously – have you ever put your tongue on a crepe paper party streamer? if you haven’t – just do it. hunt some down in your house or ask a friend for some, or just go buy some. put your tongue on it – omg, it’s crazy awful – and yet when i was little i just kept doing it because i couldn’t believe how crazy awful it tasted. ah ha ha!) and say “turnips?! really?! ew!” – and there i was eating the hell outta ’em. man, i love turnips, especially roasted – and i love ’em in greens as well (kale and collards = my fav for turnips). straight up yum. so i’m giving a fist pump for the turnips.

    chick-wheat muffins sound perfect for sopping up pretty much anything – especially a cheezy sauce. a friend of mine is still borrowing my Uncheese cookbook and it’s making me sad because you’re like the 6th person so far this MoFo who’s made something from it and i think i’m just gonna have to consider the book a loss and buy another copy. i need to get my uncheese on.

    your oven was earning its keep, and that rocks. so do apples with maple syrup and cinnamon. i’m gonna pretend you didn’t type nutmeg because that spice makes me want to punch it in its nutmeg face. my mother was a nuttyboo with the nutmeg when i was growing up and the smell of it makes me shudder. literally. ugh. which is kinda sad because nutmeg is a great spice and i want to love it again, but i just can’t bring myself to. and believe me, i’ve tried. kick ass on using up some apples that were past their prime, and now i need to find a way to deglutenize Celine’s muffins because i really want some chick-wheat muffins in my life!

    • November 4, 2010 7:45 pm

      turnips with greens is a great idea, jessy, i will have to try that! and yes, the uncheese cookbook is really pretty awesome. demand they hand it over to you! it is sad that you don’t like nutmeg. i’m like that with cloves. there was a clove incident in my past and now i can’t stand the smell or taste of them… also, i bet you could use spelt flour instead of the pastry flour in that recipe. the garbanzo flour is obviously already gluten free and has a pretty powerful flavor, so i can’t imagine it being too different. actually, celine makes a lot of gluten-free stuff herself and would probably respond if you sent her an email asking if spelt would work!

  2. November 4, 2010 7:15 pm

    Cute post! I love turnips and your cheesy sauce looks super tasty. I love everything about cheese dishes:)

  3. November 4, 2010 9:16 pm

    There is never anything unattractive about baked apples. never.

  4. November 4, 2010 9:58 pm

    your broccoli/cheese sauce definitely takes me back to my mom’s version with cauliflower with Kraft slices placed on top, melted slightly. classy.
    i can’t remember what i ended up doing with my first-experience-with-turnips-ever last year…

  5. November 4, 2010 10:29 pm

    Ooh turnips are so delicious, especially roasted! and in fry form! Baked apples are always a win, I don’t think there’s a more fallish dessert than apples and cinnamon

  6. November 4, 2010 10:30 pm

    Damn turnips they had it coming to them. I have to admit I’ve never tried cooking with turnips except in the traditional winter veggie soup. Thanks for the inspiration.

  7. November 5, 2010 3:56 pm

    That meal looks amazing and I’ve never tried roasted turnips before. never! Must rememdy that soon.

  8. November 5, 2010 4:44 pm

    The cheeze sauce and broccoli looks amazingly good! 🙂

  9. Vegannifer permalink
    November 5, 2010 6:14 pm

    I love the Ultimate Uncheese Cookbook! Jo Stepaniak is a genius!

Leave a Reply

