Skip to content

Day 6: In which the boyfriend gets me to cook something I normally wouldn’t.

November 6, 2010

Here’s the thing: I don’t eat a lot of potatoes.  I’m not sure why, really, because I love them in every way they can be cooked.  Tots, fries, mashed, salad, roasted, scalloped, baked, twice baked, boiled and buttered, hash browns, pancaked, etc etc etc.  Yet, I rarely cook with them.  I think maybe potatoes are one of those leftover ‘guilty’ foods from my omnivore days…back when I thought potatoes were going to make me ‘fat’.  (I really wish I could go back and kick my former self sometimes, don’t you?)

So now I know better, but that residual feeling takes awhile to pass.  I mean, it took me about a full year of veganism to really get comfortable cooking with olive oil.  (Kicking former self again.)  Anywho, and not to be sexist, but this is just true: I have yet to meet or date a man who does not like love potatoes.  Therefore, when the omnivore boyfriend asked if we could make the mashed potato stuffed mushrooms from 500 Vegan Recipes (that cookbook is really getting a workout from my kitchen this month), I was not surprised.  At first, I balked a little.  I suggested other things.  But he seemed to really want that, and who am I to be a jerk about it when I told him to pick out the recipes in the first place?  I’ll reserve my jerk moments for a later date.

mound of joy

You know what?  These are really tasty.  The potatoes are well seasoned.  And since I was making this with the boyfriend, he mashed the potatoes, so I didn’t even have to do all that much work.  The recipe uses new potatoes so that you don’t have to peel them (which I probably wouldn’t anyway).  And that mushroom!  Those giant portobellos soaked up all the cooking broth and were even better the second day.

He also picked out a side dish that I would never in a million years bother to make for just myself because I’d have to make seitan for it and I’m not the hugest fan of paying a million dollars for pine nuts, but…

a surprise for my mouth

This Greek stuffing (also from 500 Vegan Recipes) was a delight!  We ended up buying seitan because I was being lazy…and honestly, after purchasing the groceries for this meal (pine nuts included), it was still less than for us to go on a dinner date at a restaurant (compare about $45 to go out to $25-30 in groceries).  That is well worth it, besides all the fun time we get to spend together while cooking.  More about the stuffing: it has raisins and cinnamon in it, which I thought I might hate, but didn’t hate one bit and ended up eating it for lunch all week long (next time, we shall cut the recipe in half).  I can definitely see making this for a fall-themed potluck, though.  In case you need any potluck ideas, that is.

Well, that’s all the Mofo stuff I had saved on my computer so far.  Next time you guys get to see what I’ve actually been eating this past week.  I can tell you’re excited!

Edit: I totally forgot (selfish me) to say what the omnivore boyfriend thought about this food he picked out!  He really, really enjoyed it.  Like, a lot.  However, he was no help with the leftovers.  Not a leftover man, apparently.  I can’t wait to see what he picks out next time for us to make!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. funkyryan permalink
    November 6, 2010 6:25 pm

    It’s fun to go out of our comfort zones & make things we normally wouldn’t. I hate seitan, was it a huge part of the stuffing recipe? Or could I leave it out?

    Jackie Smith

    • November 7, 2010 7:17 pm

      you could probably leave it out…it would be more like a pilaf then. still yummy!

  2. November 6, 2010 7:10 pm

    Good for you for getting out of your comfort zone! I’m a big potato and mushroom fan, but the greek stuffing looks really really good.

  3. November 6, 2010 8:48 pm

    I’m the same way about potatoes. I love them in just about any form (except potato salad), but I almost never cook with them. Part of the problem, I think, is that I married the one man who doesn’t love potatoes. He likes them roasted, but he won’t eat mashed, and he doesn’t like them with cheesy or creamy sauces. He also won’t eat mushrooms, so that recipe will probably never get made in my house. But your pics look amazing! I wish I had someone to feed those mushrooms to so I could make them.

  4. November 6, 2010 9:35 pm

    damn you, Jessica – you said tots. and now i want tots. and i ate the last bunch last night after my yoga class. ahahahahahahaha! i’ve never met a man who hated potatoes, dan’s right there with your boyfriend. crazy potato love’n boys – now if dan would just love mustard as much as i do…….. i always thought potatoes, olive oil, avocados, peanut butter, bread, etc. would make me fat ’cause i did weight watchers a looooooong time ago and it totally made me think certain foods = the devil. jerks. i’m working on undo’n all that, but anywhooooooo….. kick ass on the boy not only enjoying the hell outta the dishes you all made, but for making selections you usually wouldn’t. yay! sounds like i need to suggest that dan pick out some recipes sometime and try something new. i would have bought the seitan as well, and what the fizzle is with the ridiculous prices on pine nuts?! we got a jar that held maybe a third of a cup and it was like $7. oh yeah, and “a surprise for my mouth” made me laugh out loud. w00t!

  5. jinx permalink
    November 6, 2010 10:57 pm

    I don’t usually cook with potatoes, either, and not because I don’t like them but because I like them too much and if I have them around I will EAT THEM ALL. Well, that and I am rather picky about wanting to find really NICE potatoes. The potato stuff portobellos look amazing, though…I may have to check out that cookbook.

    Oh yeah and pine nuts…I think it was last years crop that was a total failure, so the prices went up to about a zillion dollars, but there’s a new crop out now so the prices SHOULD be lower now.

  6. LebaLu permalink
    November 7, 2010 12:45 am

    I love all the MoFo blogs, but the potatoes spoke to me. I am the same way – I never cook with them, but I love them. You have inspired me!

  7. November 7, 2010 1:04 pm

    Mashed potato stuffed mushrooms, wow. I don’t know why I’ve never spotted that recipe before!

  8. November 7, 2010 7:10 pm

    I have looked at that Greek Stuffing recipe for a long time. I’m also reluctant to splurge on a bunch of pine nuts. Perhaps I will work on a pine nut plant.

    • November 7, 2010 7:18 pm

      i think i only used a half a cup rather than the whole cup the recipe called for. whatever is in one of those tiny packages that hang about the salad mixes in my kroger’s produce section. and it was $6! sheesh.

  9. November 7, 2010 11:46 pm

    Mushrooms stuffed with potatoes? YUM. I don’t have that cookbook, but I am definitely going to try making my own version soon. Thanks for the idea. Love your blog, by the way.

  10. Vegannifer permalink
    November 8, 2010 5:18 pm

    Great job on this meal! Glad your omni boy loved it!

Leave a Reply

