Skip to content

Day 8: In which hummus takes an interesting turn.

November 8, 2010

Short post today because I am in full-on lazy mode and I need to get back to my laziness, pronto.  This productivity stuff is overrated sometimes.  Relaxation is where it’s at.

Anyway, on to the subject of hummus.  I recently stated that I don’t trust anybody who doesn’t like hummus.  That’s probably a jerk thing to say, because there are probably some perfectly alright people out there who don’t like hummus and to each his own and whatnot, but seriously.  Hummus, people.  Get with it.  It’s awesome.

I’m a fan of hummus in most any form, so when I saw the recipe for curried butternut squash hummus in 500 Vegan Recipes, it was a must-try for me.

neon.

Sometimes, though, when you mess with it too much it isn’t really hummus anymore.  It’s another sort of dip with hummus undertones, like that cucumber hummus I made awhile back.  Which is fine, really.  I’m not one to discriminate.  But that’s definitely what happened with this.  It is very sweet because of the squash, and the curry flavor dominates it…so it’s like a sweet curry spread.  Which is awesome when you dip carrots into it, but it did not pair well with my falafel from the other day.  It becomes less of an accessory and more of a show stealer.  I can’t imagine using it in that lasagna recipe that calls for it later in the book, but perhaps it is more awesome than I figure.  Still, it has a lovely consistency, is delightfully spreadable, and gives me that curry fix when I need it (you don’t have this problem?).

All in all it was pretty good.  Just not at all what I expected.

WordPress spellcheck fun: it doesn’t recognize ‘hummus’, which I already knew, but having it underlined in red when I used it about 8 million times in this post was rather humorous.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2010 9:06 pm

    Oh my goodness that looks amazing. That is such a “duh” combination, I wonder why no one ever thought of it before!?

  2. November 9, 2010 12:15 am

    I have 500 Vegan Recipes and am discovering so many good looking recipes through mofo posts.

  3. November 9, 2010 7:33 pm

    oh, i’ve definitely made ‘dips with hummus undertones’. i’m not sure i’d be cool with sweet hummus, though. it sort of goes against my brain patterns.

  4. Vegannifer permalink
    November 10, 2010 5:47 pm

    Please post if you do make that lasagna; I’m curious!

Leave a Reply

