Skip to content

Day 10: In which the sandwich is king.

November 11, 2010

It is rare that I am not in the mood for a sandwich.  Granted, sometimes I feel like I’m on bread overload, but…not often.  Sandwich me up, pretty much any time of the day.  Here are a couple of sammiches that I have enjoyed in the past week.

 

sad tummy sammich

 

Sometime last week, I had a really horrible tummyache.  Remember the post where I said I ate all that leftover Chinese food?  Yeah, it was the next day.  Lesson learned.  Anyway, it was so bad that I actually had to leave work early in order to go lay in agony on my bed for a few hours.  After which, of course, I was hungry.  This is a delightfully simple sandwich that put something in my belly without being heavy or spicy or soy-y or anything.  Just whole wheat bread with some tomato, avocado, and Dijon mustard.  It went down smooth and it did not make me barf, which is a plus.

 

late night love

 

Often, I get out of work rather late (anywhere from 9pm-1am) and often, I am starving when that happens.  Luckily, last week I discovered that I had a box of Fantastic brand sloppy joe mix.  I used to make this stuff all the time, but haven’t been using it recently.  It was a welcome treat one night when I was hungry at midnight and running on empty.  It’s super fast to cook up…and I really enjoy the directions for the slightly more complicated version on the box.  But I didn’t have everything for it this time.  What you see above is the mix with some diced fresh tomato and a teeny bit of fresh basil thrown in schmeared liberally on that same toasted whole wheat bread.  Actually, I think it’s multigrain.  Whatever.  The omnivore boyfriend also really liked this!  Plus, I had enough left over to take to work the next day and make a sammich with there.

Honestly, is there really anything better than a really good sandwich?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2010 4:15 am

    There is nothing better than a really good sandwich! And dang, your photos continue to be awesome.

  2. November 11, 2010 10:35 am

    They are some good lookin’ sammiches!

    I like the sound (and the look) of the sloppy joe sandwich (but then, I have been known to eat lasagne sandwiches, or “The Garfield” as I call it!).

    Nothing beats a good sarnie 🙂

  3. November 11, 2010 5:44 pm

    both of these sandwiches sound yum… i love the fantastic sloppy joes!

  4. veganhomemade permalink
    November 11, 2010 5:48 pm

    Sandwiches are indeed the best!

  5. November 11, 2010 6:04 pm

    I share your sandwich love!

  6. November 11, 2010 11:41 pm

    totally agree – there’s not much better than a good sammie. i love a simple sammie, especially one that involves avocado. sadface on the chinese eats tummyache, but i’m glad the sammie helped. we usually make the ppk snobby joe’s, but they can take a bit to make and when you’re crazy hungry and watching lentils boil those minutes take fooooooorover…….they seem like hours. argh! i’m gonna have to check out the Fantastic brand sloppy joe mix – it looks really, really good – and a bonus that the boy enjoyed it, too. w00t!

  7. Vegannifer permalink
    November 12, 2010 4:48 pm

    I’ve used that mix many times myself and it is good! And easy! Lots of love for the Fantastic Foods this week with both the falafel and the sloppy joe. They should pay you!

Leave a Reply

