Skip to content

Day 11: In which Jessica finds a new way to love leeks.

November 12, 2010

I love leeks.  Love them.  Sometimes I just buy them, thinking I’ll figure a way to incorporate them into my meals…when really I have no plan whatsoever.  Because of this, I recently found myself with four leeks and no prospects as to how to cook them.  One night, after Pilates with my friend Becca, we were discussing dinner.  I mentioned that I had a number of leeks that I had no idea how to cook…and she brought up something amazing!

 

my new favorite thing

 

Leek confit!  Becca gave me a basic rundown, saying that I needed to do a combination saute/braise and cook the leeks for at least 20 minutes.  They need to cook in a fat, and margarine is the best bet, as it’s majorly buttery and decadent, which I think is key in this recipe.  So!  Here’s the deal:  I cut up two leeks, then cooked them in about 2 tablespoons of vegan margarine.  I added water by the quarter cup, adding more as it evaporated and the leeks cooked down.  This went on for about a half hour, until the leeks got soft and almost spreadable.  Meanwhile!  I cooked up yet another tofu scramble.  This one must have been mighty tasty, because the omnivore boyfriend ate all my leftovers of it.  He actually also really liked the leek confit, spread on toast.  Surprise of all surprises.  It’s delightfully oniony, without being overpowering, slightly sweet, and as salty as you’d like to make it.  Rich, delectable, wonderful…the ultimate in a savory breakfast.  (Except I ate this for dinner.)  I suggest that if you love leeks, you should definitely try this out.  I can’t wait to make it again, and honestly cannot figure out how I’ve managed this long without it.

Leek confit!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. radioactivegan permalink
    November 12, 2010 5:33 am

    Just leeks and margarine? That sounds genius! You need to give your pilates friend an extra big hug for me 🙂

  2. November 12, 2010 1:26 pm

    You make leeks on toast look strangely appealing.

  3. lazysmurf permalink
    November 12, 2010 4:36 pm

    Oh wow! That sounds like something I would love, just throw some greens on and it would be a meal!

  4. Vegannifer permalink
    November 12, 2010 4:44 pm

    Hooray for friends with good ideas! My favorite leek recipe is this one (totally vegan if you leave out the parm or sub with vegan parm) by Jamie Oliver:

    http://www.nibblous.com/recipe/186

  5. veganhomemade permalink
    November 12, 2010 5:24 pm

    What a simple, yummy way to cook leeks! I just happen to have three leeks in the fridge right now…

  6. November 12, 2010 7:41 pm

    i havent really cooked with leeks much but i do like them… ill have to try this. it looks really tasty!

  7. November 12, 2010 10:54 pm

    Perfect! I’ve got leeks coming in my vegbox next week and am desperately seeking recipes to use them. This looks delicious and insanely easy 🙂

  8. November 13, 2010 2:22 am

    oh, yes, leeks! my love affair with them began when i lived in Germany where they use them a shit ton! i don’t think i had even had them before then. they aren’t very popular in most of the States. anyways, yum! i’ll have to try that.

Trackbacks

  1. More Leek Love « Awesome. Vegan. Rad.

Leave a Reply

