Skip to content

Day 12: In which pasta makes my belly smile.

November 12, 2010

If you have a box of whole wheat pasta, you can easily make it into at least 3 lunches on the fly.  I tend to keep a couple of boxes of whole wheat rotini around in case I get ravenous and don’t have a lot of time or ingredients.  Usually, I just cook some minced garlic in a boatload of olive oil, then toss the pasta with the garlic/oil and liberally salt & pepper it.  This time, though, I was lucky enough to have a few extra ingredients on hand.

4 ingredients for happiness

Capers, garlic, fresh basil, and some quartered artichoke hearts from a frozen bag that I’ve been hoarding for months.  I tossed all these into the pot with some olive oil after the pasta had finished cooking (yay for only using one pot!), let it cook until the garlic wasn’t raw anymore, then tossed in the pasta.

 

perfectly filling lunch

Lots of salt and pepper later, I sat down to a warm and healthy(ish) meal that my belly and taste buds thoroughly enjoyed!  Plus, I was full for hours afterward.  Whole grains are the best best best for keeping you going, guys.  Also, I’d like to note that I found myself irrationally hungry all of a sudden and was on the verge of just going out for a burrito or something when I decided to do this instead.  It took me about 15 minutes to pull together, and I didn’t have to take off my pajama pants to do it.  Oh, and I saved about $7-9 by just using stuff that was already lying around my kitchen.  So many reasons to just cook your lunch at home!

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2010 7:46 pm

    i’m doing some serious mofo catching up reading–did that even make grammatical sense? anyway, love the blog. i like the writing style, and it’s not a bunch of pictures of oatmeal.

  2. radioactivegan permalink
    November 12, 2010 8:01 pm

    I never think to use artichoke hearts in anything, but that looks really good. Yay for pantry dinners 🙂

  3. November 12, 2010 8:36 pm

    That looks delicious – I’m a huge pasta fan & always have at least 4 or 5 kinds around for quick meals.

Leave a Reply

