Skip to content

Day 15: In which Jessica is full of beans.

November 15, 2010

I’ve mentioned many times that I come home from work late a lot with an empty belly.  And I end up eating these ridiculous things at midnight, which is really not good for my waistline.  I rarely go straight to sleep though.  I try to stay up for at least an hour after I eat.  But I’m betting that after this meal, I needed to stay up for an hour, and also run 6 miles.  Because not only did I eat 3 of these:

 

quiero.

 

But I also ate all of these:

 

ay carumba.

 

In the form of glorious, glorious guacamole.  I’m all for healthy fats, but 2 entire avocados in one sitting might be a teensy bit ridiculous.  Oh well, though.  I live a relatively active lifestyle and try to eat a balanced diet.  One night of guacamole gorging isn’t going to kill me (or at least it hasn’t yet).  Anyway!  It was pure please, regardless!  I love bean burritos!

What you see up there is a fancied version of my childhood burrito.  My dad would combine a can of beans with a packet of Kroger brand taco seasoning and we would eat that with cheese and other toppings inside a giant burrito skin.  Mine is just exactly that, except I used guacamole and some sliced red peppers and my tortilla is whole wheat.  You know that taste and foods are tied to memory, right?  Well, when I bite into a bunch of kidney beans seasoned with that taco packet, it transports me right back to my childhood self, sitting at our dining room table with my dad, mom and one brother (the other was at college by this point in my memories).  We always ate dinner as a family, every night, no matter what, up until I moved out (I’m the youngest).  I miss that…and sometimes, when I eat things like bean burritos or spaghetti with garlic bread or mac n cheeze with notdogs, I feel reconnected to it.

And that is not such a bad feeling to have at midnight when you’re full of guacamole.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 6:00 pm

    Very sweet, and I know exactly what you mean about reconnecting to that security and warmnth from your past through familiar tastes!

  2. November 15, 2010 7:17 pm

    It’s so hard to practice moderation when guacamole in the picture… I’ve definitely been in the same situation. I have so many food memories and it’s always great to be taken back to a special memory or experience through a particular dish.

  3. November 16, 2010 12:18 am

    heh. I also just ate a ton of food before bed plus a really hefty beer. thought I should feel bad about it but then i have to convince myself that a mountainful of vegan lasagna at 11 pm every once in a while isn’t going to kill me heh could be a lot worse.

  4. November 16, 2010 5:03 am

    Don’t feel guilty, it looks amazing! And just think how good all those avocados are for your skin and hair. 🙂

  5. November 16, 2010 2:35 pm

    I do the same thing when I get home from work, whoopps!

    Whitney

  6. Vegannifer permalink
    November 17, 2010 2:59 pm

    Hooray for bean burritos (at any time of the day!) and hooray for eating together as a family! My family always did, too, and now my husband and I do with our girls. It’s important!

Leave a Reply

