Skip to content

Day 16: In which Becca comes to my house to mix it up.

November 16, 2010

That’s a play on words, you see?  Because usually we cook at her house.  And also the obvious connotations to cooking.  I know you already got it, I just wanted to point out how clever I was being, thus ruining all cleverness in the process.

Ahem.

I recently asked you, my lovely readers, to supply me with a recipe that uses sumac.  I bought a giant tub of it, and there it sits in my cabinet, all lovely and pink, and feeling left out.  Miss Ashley, of Cooper’s Cravings sent me a link in the comments section to several recipes that utilize sumac.  I chose this tomato and red lentil soup mostly because I already had all the ingredients on hand except for celery, but also because I need to eat more lentils and also because I’ve been in the mood for soup.

 

protein!

 

Becca and I made a couple of changes to the recipe, of course, because we cannot leave well enough alone.  Naturally, we used veggie stock instead of chicken stock.  We also used two 14.5 ounce cans of diced tomatoes instead of a 28 ounce can of chopped.  This was so that we didn’t need to strain it to get rid of the seeds and skins, and also because I already had 2 cans of diced tomatoes in my cupboard.  We used fresh parsley instead of dried, 4 heaping teaspoons of sumac instead of 1 or 2 (we couldn’t taste it otherwise!), we did add the lemon juice at the end, and finally we added two giant handful of fresh baby spinach right before serving.  It was divine.

For our side, Becca roasted up some brussels sprouts and artichoke quarters (from our respective freezers) with olive oil, crushed red pepper, and salt.  They got all crispy and browned and perfect.  I ate the leftovers of them cold for breakfast the next morning.  That’s how good they were.

The soup itself is filling (the lentils, I’m assuming) and tangy, and a nice twist on both tomato and lentil soups.  I will definitely be making this again!  It was so incredibly easy, and there was plenty of downtime in which we could drink wine and chat.  Lentil power!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2010 8:01 pm

    that’s one helluva bowl of soup, Jessica! i hope you’re having the best of times in NYC, my friend. you know, i think i picked up “my friend” from you a while back – i just really liked it! w00t! tomato-lentil soup made with a friend and enjoyed with a side of brussels sprouts and artichokes = the awesome – and an awesome i wish i was there to partake in. totally gonna have to make this soup ’cause it looks amazing and sounds fantastical. i like celery alright, but sometimes it’s too much – glad it didn’t make it into the soup, and i’m gonna keep it your way when i make this for dan and i to enjoy. mmmmmmm!

    • November 17, 2010 11:34 pm

      i did put the celery in it! i took it from becca’s house, since i didn’t have any. you couldn’t really taste it, since the soup gets pureed before you add the lentils. so…you could probably leave it out, but i don’t think it tasted like celery at all.

  2. Vegannifer permalink
    November 17, 2010 2:57 pm

    That soup is beautiful and I’m so excited you found a use for your sumac! I’m happy, too, to know someone else whom eats and enjoys cold brussels sprouts. I love them!

Leave a Reply

