Skip to content

Day 17: In which Jessica goes to New York.

November 17, 2010
tags: , ,

On Sunday, I went to New York!  I’m going to write all about my delicious foodventures starting tomorrow because I just walked in the door about 20 minutes ago and there is no way I can edit all my photos and write something coherent before midnight.  But I will talk briefly about how important it is to have vegan snacks on a 15 hour train ride.

 

smorgasbord

 

I didn’t manage to eat all this on the ride up or down, but it definitely helped and I had variety, which is important, I think.  There’s Clif bars, Primal jerky strips, some Endangered Species chocolate squares, chocolate covered coconut bits, a miso soup packet (useless, no way to get hot water on the train), and two bottles of water.  On the way  up I had 2 of the Clif bars and 2 of the jerky strips before I got sick of eating nothing but straight protein and ventured to the dining car.

Imagine my shock when I looked at the menu and under hot sandwiches it said ‘Vegan Burger’!  Naturally, I ordered it, plus some fresh fruit.  The burger, while edible, was…um…interesting.  The flavor wasn’t exactly bad, but the bun was weirdly gummy.  There were also no fixings like lettuce, tomato, ketchup, or mustard.  Just burger and bun.  So.  Only in case of emergency would I recommend ordering that thing.  The fruit was awesome, though.  Lots of delicious grapes, some strawberries, and grapefruit wedges.  That made me feel less nasty, having some fresh produce in my belly.

I suppose my point is that it is definitely possible to survive on Amtrak without snacks, but you should do yourself a favor and bring something to eat with you.  Next time, I would totally bring a sandwich.  I did manage to bring some leftovers for my journey home, but I can’t tell you about that until I get to talking about the food!

Ok, none of this seems really coherent to me right now, but I’m exhausted and I’ve been on a train for 15 hours (and up since 5:30 am) and I just really want to drink a beer and go to bed.  Come back tomorrow for loads of serious awesomeness!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2010 5:08 am

    snax are essential for an Amtrak – but that’s awesome they had a vegan burger on the menu. go figure it was just served plain and the bun was weird, but that’s pretty sweet that they thought to even have an option. progress for Amtrak, methinks. oooh, a sammie is a really good idea – i visit my bro up in ny about once a year and next time i’m bringing a sammie along with my snacks. i cannot WAIT to catch up on all the gloriousness of your nyc trip, Jessica! eagerlyawaitingface! ha ha!

  2. Vegannifer permalink
    November 18, 2010 1:52 pm

    I’m envious of your train ride! I’ve done airplanes plenty of times, but never a train. How fun!
    Sorry to hear about your gummy bun, but you did a great job planning snacks and I can’t wait to hear about your NYC vegan adventures!

  3. veganhomemade permalink
    November 18, 2010 5:04 pm

    That’s pretty cool that the Amtrak menu said vegan right on it! I’ve been tossing around the idea of taking a train ride somewhere…I’m sure I’d bring tons of food with me too.

Leave a Reply

