Skip to content

Day 20: In which Jessica consumes the good, the bad, and the ugly.

November 20, 2010

On Tuesday night, we ate dinner at Pukk.  I love Thai food, and it came highly recommended, so I was pretty pumped about it.  Unfortunately, it ended up being…not so great.  Maybe we ordered the wrong things?  I can get a pretty decent Thai curry here in Huntington, so I didn’t want to just order a curry.  Well, it wasn’t terrible or anything.  This soup was actually pretty incredible:

 

bowl o coconut

 

That’s the coconut mushroom soup that my aunt got as an appetizer.  It is wonderfully flavored with lemongrass and cilantro.  There are a few varieties of mushrooms and it was delightfully slurpable.  However, I didn’t eat much of it because I had eaten a big lunch and I was trying to save room for ice cream at Lula’s later.  I’m definitely going to have to make a version of this at some point.

 

meh

 

My aunt ordered the gravy noodles because she was intrigued by the idea of a ginger gravy.  Turns out it wasn’t so intriguing after all.  I mean, first of all, it looks sort of yucky, doesn’t it?  Gloppy?  She reported the noodles to be gummy and the sauce to be pretty flavorless.  I didn’t really taste the sauce, but I did try a bit of the tofu.  It was nicely pressed and had a good texture, but…it was completely unflavored!  And raw.  It just was darned unimpressive.  However, she did say that the mushrooms were really good, so she ate those up at least.

 

mmm...?

 

Ha.  Man.  That does not really look like something I want to eat, but I did and it was pretty good.  This is the spicy watercress ‘duck’ in a chili mushroom sauce.  I was happy that I could get brown rice instead of white (an impossibility in my town…it’s like brown rice doesn’t exist here).  I’ve had mock duck on a New York trip before, actually in a Thai restaurant that was really super awesome that I can’t remember the name of because it was before I started food blogging.  Anyway, this was ok.  It was crazy salty, but the flavor was nice.  I especially enjoyed the watercress.  My body was really craving greens that day, and this filled that need.

Anyway, it just wasn’t really memorable as being awesome, except for the soup.  I probably just should have ordered a curry, because Thai curries are nearly always delicious.  That’s what I get for trying something new!  (This is what I tend to say when I order something that I normally wouldn’t, in the spirit of adventure, and then it ends up sucking, which happens surprisingly often.)

Tomorrow will be my last New York foodventure post…so stay tuned to read about my awesome junk food day!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2010 4:17 pm

    sadface on the disappointing meal, Jessica! it started off look’n great with the coconut mushroom soup, but i can see how it went downhill with those gravy noodles. that stinks that the mock duck dish was too salty. if there’s one thing i have a hard time working through, it’s a dish that’s too darn salty. i think it’s because you just can’t fix it, ya know? i’m glad your meals at Red Bamboo and Franchia were awesome. they looked amazing!

  2. November 20, 2010 4:37 pm

    The coconut mushroom soup does look all kinds of awesome though, I’d love it if you recreated that and then shared it with the world.
    🙂

  3. ameyfm permalink
    November 20, 2010 8:08 pm

    poo. sorry for the not-as-good-as-expected experience. happens to all of us, and it always sucks. that thai coconut soup really is good stuff, huh? 🙂

Leave a Reply

