Skip to content

Day 24: That’s how I casserole.

November 24, 2010

Yeah, the ‘In which…’ thing was starting to get on my nerves too.  Anyway, I really wanted to use that pun today.

 

gimme!

 

This is my first casserole of the fall season, can you believe it?  And I love casseroles.  They’re just so stupidly awesome.  Throw things in dish.  Bake.  Eat.  And the flavors get all lovingly mingled together while it all bakes away in your oven and you finish that bottle of wine in the living room.  Ah, ode to casseroles.  That is the deceivingly simply named Polenta Casserole from Eat, Drink & Be Vegan up there.  Again, I must say that ED&BV is probably my favorite cookbook.  I have had, possibly, one dish out of it that I have not loved.  Dreena Burton is a genius, plain and simple.  This casserole, like most of the recipes in there, is easy to prepare and delicious.  So surprisingly yummy!

 

mound of awesome.

 

No, it isn’t winning any beauty contests, but some of the best food I’ve eaten has been ugly.  On the bottom there is a layer of beans (I used kidney, because I like kidney beans, darnit) and corn with oregano, thyme, and various other flavors.  Then, for the top bit, you grate a tube of prepared polenta.  It’s nuts how that works…it really looks like grated cheese when you’re done.  There’s some fake cheese in there (I used Follow Your Heart mozzarella, like Dreena suggests), but it’s optional.  I think it lends a…butter-y sort of flavor to the topping, though.  The polenta gets all nice and crispy and meshes quite well with the beans.  I’d try this again with cannellini beans at some point, because the flavors are Italian and white beans might pair even better than my beloved kidney beans.

Man.  Casseroles.  What are your favorites?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2010 3:57 pm

    That casserole looks great!

  2. November 24, 2010 7:07 pm

    So that’s what the polenta was for! It looks nommy.

    • November 25, 2010 1:01 am

      it was so nommy. also, i’ll have to remember to try out that other vegan cheese you told me about. i’m curious. because i really like FYH.

  3. November 24, 2010 8:07 pm

    i can’t believe this is your first casserole of the season, Jessica! totally gonna have to make this one. i hae ED&BV, but have only made 2 or 3 dishes from it – and now i’m kicking myself in the ass ’cause it sounds like i’m missing out on a lot of awesomeness. i need to find my copy pronto! our favorite casserole: tuna-NOT casserole and a veganized version of paula dean’s potato casserole. so yum!

    ooooh, and i can’t wait to see your thanksgiving eats!

    p.s. – if this comment makes no sense just blame the fact that i’ve had a glass of wine. ah ha ha!

  4. November 25, 2010 5:24 am

    the ‘in which’ thing wasn’t annoying me! But the casserole line did make me laugh out loud! 😀

  5. veganhomemade permalink
    November 28, 2010 12:10 pm

    I don’t have enough casseroles in my life either. This one looks really good! Off the top of my head, my favorite has to be (no) tuna noodle casserole.

Leave a Reply

