Skip to content

Day 26: Food coma.

November 26, 2010

Who else ate way too much yesterday?  Don’t be shy.

Ok, so Turtle Island Foods sent me a coupon for a free Tofurkey Vegetarian Feast.  That’s worth blogging about, I think.  It’s been a few years since I’d had a Tofurkey roast, but when I was newly vegetarian a few years ago, they saved several Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners at my parents’ house.  I didn’t really feel like making my own seitan roast this year (my last attempt was an epic failure), but I did want an easy main dish so that I could focus on vamping up my side dishes, so Turtle Island totally came to my rescue!  Not to mention that the Tofurkey roast is just darned good.

 

aw.

 

Instead of using the recipe for the baste that’s on the box like I’ve done many times before (and it’s good!), I tried out this recipe for a sweet southwestern glaze.  Something a little different, you know?  And man, was it a good match!  Spicy, maple-y…the flavor just really complemented that of the roast.

 

looks inviting, doesn't it?

 

As usual, it sliced up just perfect and went smashingly with a round of ridiculous sides (coming up in a moment).  Even the omnivore boyfriend really liked it.  He wasn’t a huge fan of the stuffing on the inside, but I rather like the wild rice hanging out in there.  The feast also came with gravy, this somewhat macabre ‘wishbone’:

 

wishful.

 

(strange, but tasty), and a chocolate cake from Amy’s!  We didn’t get to the chocolate cake until today, though, and I have so much else to show you…so I’m going to wait until tomorrow to chat about that gem.  Thank you, Turtle Island!  You made my Thanksgiving so much easier!

And now…for the rest.  Shall I just do pictures?  With the occasional quip?  Ok.  First up, prep photos:

 

cheeze!

 

That’s the I Can’t Believe it’s Not Cheese recipe from The Ultimate Uncheese Cookbook.  I think it’s the best recipe I’ve made out of there so far.  Amazingly rich and decadent.  To be served atop:

 

fresh!

 

Broccoli!  Steamed, though.

 

to be roasted.

 

Cubed butternut squash and some red onion, tossed in olive oil.

 

seedy.

 

Ohhhh pomegranates.  Love.  These and that roasted squash went into this warm salad:

 

grainy

 

This is supposed to be that warm brown rice salad thing from the November issue of Vegetarian Times, but…  First of all, I couldn’t find a jar of cooked chestnuts anywhere at Kroger.  So I used pistachios.  Also, where are there bags of frozen butternut squash?  Luckily, I have a few lying around, so I roasted my own.  Also, Kroger doesn’t seem to carry arugula (which I’ve never had anyway), so I subbed in spinach.  I know that spinach isn’t an adequate substitute for arugula, but I used it anyway.  It was fine.  Then!  I got home to find out that I didn’t have enough brown rice (nor did I buy a package of pre-cooked rice…seriously, VegTimes, what is up with all the shortcuts in that recipe?  I’m surprised it didn’t ask for jarred lemon zest.), so I used quinoa.  Anyway, the omnivore boyfriend didn’t end up liking this, solely because he doesn’t like quinoa.  Damn the luck.  I found it delicious though!  Ok, more pictures, less talking.

 

i could die.

 

Stuffing!  There isn’t nearly enough inside that Tofurkey roast, ever.  I would eat stuffing every day of my life if it wouldn’t make me gain a million pounds.  This is just a bag of Pepperidge Farm stuffing mix with onions, garlic, celery, parsley, and currants added in.  Yum yum yum.

 

yummy yummy fat

 

I swear I have never used more margarine in one meal.  Wow.  This is more leek confit, to be spread onto these little darlings:

 

buttery goodness

 

Except not real butter.  Those are Kroger brand croissants.  I cheated a little, yes, I get it (with the stuffing and the roast and the gravy and the bread), but I was still in the kitchen for almost 5 hours.  I’m slow.  The omnivore boyfriend made the mashed potatoes (taters?  what’s taters, precious?), which were amazing, and you will see them stealing the show in the rest of these photos.

Plated!  Cooked!  Enjoy!

Man.  It was such a success.  I’m super proud of myself.  We were too stuffed at this point to eat any of the cake, but, like I said, we’ll talk about that tomorrow.

Now…how to make leftovers interesting for the rest of the week and the end of Mofo?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2010 8:04 am

    that’s one helluva thanksgiving meal, Jessica! i especially love the stuffing (i could eat it everyday, too!), your butternutty quinoa, and the broccoli ‘n cheezy sauce. mmmm! schweeeeeet on the tofurkey hook-up. that’s hilarious that vegetarian times had so many short-cuts in their recipe. i want to say that there were a couple of recipes in that Skinny Bitch cookbook that were similar and i remember thinking “what the fizzle?” ah ha ha! it seems like everyone had broccoli with their thanksgiving dinner, we had some in the house, but i totally forgot to roast it with the asparagus. i think i’m gonna have to eat a ton of it in the next couple days to make up for it – i missed it! my grandmother always made THE BEST stuffing, and one year i helped her make it – sure enough she used pepperridge farms. you can’t go wrong with that! now i’m gonna scroll up and drool over your plate again. mmmmmmm!

  2. November 27, 2010 8:29 am

    Everything looks great. I especially enjoy the broccoli because that’s my most favorite vegetable ever.

  3. November 27, 2010 11:28 am

    Wooooooowww, that all looks sooo gooood! (do I have enough oooo’s to express my wonder? no!) I still want to try your leek confit sometime soon. The last time I bought leeks for something, I had an extra one sitting in my fridge until it spoiled b/c I couldn’t find anything interesting to do w/it!

    Jes

  4. veganhomemade permalink
    November 28, 2010 12:14 pm

    That’s a nice looking Thanksgiving meal! I’m especially envious of the broccoli and cheese. Oh, and I totally used way to much Earth Balance in my Thanksgiving dishes, that’s what the day is for!

  5. November 30, 2010 9:54 am

    How I regret not having prepared such a feast on our Canadian Thanksgiving. Everything looks absolutely amazing. Wow!

Leave a Reply

