Skip to content

Day 30: In which, the end!

November 30, 2010

Man, I hope you guys have had a good Vegan Mofo.  Honestly, and I’m sure there are many others out there that would agree with me, it was exhausting.  Next time, I’m going to have a theme, so you don’t have to look at my gross leftovers or spaghetti or whatever all month.  But hey!  That’s how I eat, alright?  This was a truly honest glimpse into how I nourish myself over the course of a month.  Sometimes I cook, sometimes I don’t have time to do so.  But I still feed myself really good vegan food every day, no matter how pressed for time I am.  So this can be my testament, when people ask me, ‘Isn’t being vegan hard?’ Not so hard that I can’t do it, friends.  Obviously.  Anyway, to wrap things up, I’ve got some nachos for you to drool over.

 

sal(i)vation.

 

I went to my friend Becca’s house after pilates last night, and, buddy, we nacho-ed it up.  It’s been over a year since I’ve had nachos (and I used to eat them all the time!), which is a travesty.  Remedied, thusly:

 

!!!

 

The fixings are as follows:  black beans cooked in taco seasoning, black olives, fire roasted salsa, guacamole, hot sauce, and cheeze sauce!  The cheeze sauce was a huge hit with Becca (and always is with me).  For my nachos I use the nacho cheeze sauce from Yellow Rose Recipes. It is spot on.  Ultra yellow and melty, it has just the right hints of cumin and jalapeno.  It is so absolutely perfect for nachos (and as a dip for carrots, pretzels, tortilla chips, your fingers, etc).  Plus, it’s fat free.  Yeah, I know.  We pretty much drenched our nachos in it.  Because it’s that fabulous.  (Yes, even a cheese-eating omnivore thought so!  Granted, Becca is more open-minded than most, but still.  Fake cheese sauce.  Enjoyed.  Thoroughly.)  Gratuitous picture:

 

i miss it already.

 

Yeah, it was as awesome as you think.

 

I’m going to take a little break now.  See you guys in about a week!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. lazysmurf permalink
    November 30, 2010 6:46 pm

    OMG I do want those nachos! I should never look at blogs when I am hungry especially posts with olives and guacamole!

    Happy MoFo! Maybe we should start writing posts for next year now 🙂

  2. November 30, 2010 7:44 pm

    Those are some mighty fine looking nachos!

  3. veganhomemade permalink
    November 30, 2010 11:21 pm

    Happy end of MoFo! Those nachos look amazing, and I’d like a big plate right now.

  4. December 1, 2010 11:58 am

    your nachos look crazy awesome, Jessica! huzzah! totally need to try the cheeze sauce from YRR – haven’t yet and i keep hearing super good things about it. mmmmmm!

    you kicked the ass that is MoFo’s, my friend! for some reason this year was exhausting for me, too. i managed to post every day, as i have in the past, but this year i felt so drained. maybe it was the fact that it was in november? i dunno, but i need to be more prepared for next year.

    i eat some damn good-for-ya vegan food every day as well – totally agree, veganism isn’t hard – and i don’t think it’s expensive either. i love it the most and i’m never go’n back. hoooooooooray for all the awesome that MoFo brought!

  5. December 1, 2010 7:20 pm

    yuuum i love nachos! this post is making me want nachos right now!!! i loved your posts for mofo! rest up 🙂

  6. Meredith permalink
    December 6, 2010 4:09 pm

    Those nachoes look sooo yummy! I want them!

  7. December 7, 2010 8:48 am

    I ws going to ask how it was, you just told me – AWESOME.

    🙂

  8. December 7, 2010 11:24 am

    nacho party at your house, tomorrow.

Trackbacks

  1. Turnip Nachos? « Awesome. Vegan. Rad.

Leave a Reply

