Skip to content

It is Spring, and all is well.

April 30, 2011

So, hello there.  I’ve still been cooking.  A lot.  And meal planning.  Would you like to see some of it?  I need to do some catch-up posts before the farmers market frenzy of summertime!  By the by, there was a freshmarket outside of where I went to lunch yesterday and I got 4 turnips (fat ones!), 4 carrots (real, curvy, thick ones!), 3 ears of corn, and a good pile of sugar snap peas for five dollars.  Then I remembered how I survive in the summertime, even though the restaurant business dies and I make no money.  Thank goodness for cheap and local produce!

Anyhow, this is some of what I’ve made lately.  I’ve kind of gone bananas over Appetite for Reduction.

happy belly food

Chickpea Piccata over Caulipots and fresh arugula.  I want to eat this every day.  And it was not difficult to make, like the piccata in Vcon (although, I haven’t made that in forever and a day, but I remember it being complicated and having loads of components).  I shall start by saying that I like caulipots better than mashed potatoes.  Mashed potatoes make me feel like I ate a brick.  These make me feel like I ate a delicious cloud.  Yep.  And the piccata itself…so saucy, so salty, so briny!  The arugula was just fresh enough to bring me down to earth and feel healthy, without being nasty (although the omnivore boyfriend disagrees, as he does not like arugula).  And it made around 4 big servings, which rules.

well, hello there.

Hey, so I have never had tortilla soup, ever, before this.  They have tortilla soup at this restaurant in my town that everyone goes apeshit over, but it’s creamy and has chicken in it and I was vegetarian/vegan before I ever got around to trying it, and so I guess that’s what I thought tortilla soup was like (and honestly, ick!).  This is better.  I’m gonna go ahead and say that even though I’ve never had that other one.  Because this one is fresh and low-fat and gets better by the day (day 3 was the best) and it isn’t chock full of nasty cruel animal bits.  Dig it.

favorites!

This is my favorite way to cook asparagus when it’s in season.  Just cut it up with some baby portobellos, some baby corn (mmmm babies), and garlic.  Toss with olive oil, salt, and pepper.  Roast.  Eat.  Omnivore boyfriend hates asparagus no longer because of this roasty toasty side dish.  It’s especially good just mixed in with some quinoa.  It makes my teeth squeak, in a good way.

blurry tasty

This was too good to bother taking a good picture of, apparently.  Mango BBQ Beans with Jerk Asparagus (still all from AFR, except for my roasty veggies).  I just cooked some brown rice to mix in with the beans and it was magical and delicious.  But in a totally better way than that stupid cereal that claims the same.  I brought leftovers to work and this guy who works in the kitchen kept stealing bites of it.  And those dudes usually think my food is totes weird, so there you go.  Also, having never before made my own BBQ anything, it was mighty rewarding to throw this together and have it taste like something you’d get at a restaurant.  Also, the asparagus was yummy (but not as good as roasting it).

curry me away

Curried Cabbage with Peas and Masala Baked Tofu.  Light, easy, peasy, and tasty.  The omnivore boyfriend cannot eat cabbage (I learned – he literally cannot have it in his mouth or he might explode), but he liked the tofu.  I liked it all!  I’m not so good at cooking cabbage, and I like it, so it’s nice to have a new cabbage recipe under my belt.  Marinating the tofu without oil had me all skeptical, but it worked quite nicely.  As a plus, this tasted nice squirted with sriracha and mixed up with some brown rice.

Appetite for Reduction is winning.  I don’t think I’ve lost any weight (I’m not really trying to), but I have felt better in general, eating lighter meals.  The best part is that the portions are pretty big, which is good because I like to eat.

I have lots more to show you, mostly from Vegan Brunch, but I don’t want to overload the internet with too much awesomeness at once.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2011 2:37 pm

    I love reading your blog! The pictures are beautiful, always leaving my mouth watering! YUM!!!

  2. Laura permalink
    April 30, 2011 8:14 pm

    Looks great!

  3. April 30, 2011 10:05 pm

    yay, a post! i’ve been noticing new pictures on flickr and i’ve been awaitin’ a new post :o)

  4. May 1, 2011 10:01 pm

    Looks great! I love Appetite For Reduction.

Trackbacks

  1. Asparagus Challenge! | Awesome. Vegan. Rad.

Leave a Reply

