Skip to content

Indian FTW.

October 6, 2011

That’s for the win, for those of you not in the know (it has an alternate meaning…shhh!).  I recently purchased 30 Minute Vegan’s Taste of the East, which was a spectacular idea.  I love the original 30 Minute Vegan cookbook, and I love Asian food of all kinds.  This cookbook features all sorts of delicious cuisines like Indian, Thai, Chinese, Japanese, and a fusion bit that has some Indonesian, Korean and other Asian dishes.  Perfect for me!  I finally unearthed it from the bottom of a box and cooked from it this week.  Combined with a dish from (my new favorite cookbook) Appetite for Reduction, it made mouths and tummies happy.

yay!

First up is the rice, courtesy of Appetite for Reduction.  Butternut Coconut Rice, to be exact.

oh goodness.

This rice is the low fat version of a wet dream.  Seriously, you don’t even miss any fat.  It has the creaminess of a butternut squash (though feel free to substitute any sort of winter squash, really) and the distinctive flavor of coconut and the hearty feeling of brown rice.  It could pair with any Indian dish, but would also be delicious alone, or with some basic baked tofu.  The semi-vegan boyfriend and I loved the heck out of it.  I went the extra mile (since I had the extra time and calories burning a hole in my pocket) to toast some coconut to top it and that upped the coconut flavor.  I suggest you do the same!

ohhhh creamy.

I decided to pair Tofu in Tomato Cream Sauce with the butternut rice.  And what a great idea!  The cream sauce was a cinch to make (saute onions etc, blend tomatoes with cashews, and done) and combined splendidly with the rice.  The cashews lend a creaminess and richness that you can’t get from coconut milk alone, and the spices were distinctly Indian without using the standby of curry powder.  The boyfriend said they were each delicious, but combined were perfection.  I made this recipe initially because when we first moved in, our neighbors gifted us with a giant basket of fresh tomatoes from their garden, and this used up a portion of them.  Since it was so popular, the next day I made a second batch of just the sauce to freeze for a future busy night.  And I’m glad I did!  I can’t wait to taste this stuff again!

More recipes from 30 Minute Vegan’s Taste of the East coming up.  I can’t get enough!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2011 10:27 pm

    Maaan, does that ever look GOOD! I’ve never heard of that 30 minute/east book before, but I just logged on to the library and put a hold on it. Must have. Thanks for posting about it, I’m looking forward to seeing more of the recipes here!

    • October 7, 2011 9:00 am

      you’ll be so glad you did! some of the spices are a tad obscure, but the recipes are all easy to make and so delicious.

  2. October 7, 2011 2:24 am

    Mmmm that looks yummy!

  3. October 8, 2011 1:02 pm

    Oh, man! I want to eat this right now!

  4. Vegan Fusion permalink
    October 10, 2011 5:43 am

    Thanks so much for the great review! We would be honored if you shared your thoughts on our Amazon page. Let us know if you have any questions about the recipes. – Mark Reinfeld, coauthor, The 30-Minute Vegan
    http://www.amazon.com/30-Minute-Vegans-Taste-East-Recipes/dp/0738213829/ref=ntt_at_ep_dpt_3

  5. October 11, 2011 6:53 am

    FYI…The page for the original 30 Minute Vegan is here:

    http://www.amazon.com/30-Minute-Vegan-Delicious-Healthy-Everyday/dp/0738213276/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1318330262&sr=8-1

    Thanks so much!
    Mark

Trackbacks

  1. Turnip Nachos? « Awesome. Vegan. Rad.

Leave a Reply

