Skip to content

Fancy Weekend Breakfast

October 16, 2011

Sometimes when you wake up on a Saturday, you want a fancy breakfast.  Not often, mind you.  In fact, I mostly hate breakfast foods, which is why you almost never see me blog about them.  I’m a boring breakfaster, for the most part – cereal, granola bars, or fruit.  Occasionally I go crazy and eat a granola bar and a piece of fruit.  And mostly, my weekend breakfasts consist of spaghetti.  But not yesterday.  Oh, no.  Yesterday I decided I needed a big breakfast, something classic.  Something like…pancakes.  Yes, sometimes you want a fancy breakfast…and then sometimes you end up with this:

hahahahahahahahahaha

So now I remember why I never eat pancakes.  Before you judge (and before I get to attacking the recipe directions), these tasted really fantastic.  They’re the chocolate chip pancakes from 500 Vegan Recipes, and they seriously just taste like chocolate cake.  I didn’t eat them with any accoutrements.  I just peeled off the burned parts and ate them plain.  Yeah, they’re pretty burned.  That’s because I didn’t follow my instincts, as usual.  I really need to quit second guessing myself.  Anyway, I don’t know if my kitchen equipment just doesn’t work like that of the awesome ladies who wrote this book, but several of the recipes I’ve tried from it have semi-failed.  The bones of the recipes are great, but seriously, no one should ever cook a pancake over high heat.  Right?  Is it just me?  You cook pancakes over, like, medium-low heat.  Don’t you?  But when I read to preheat my pan (I used the griddle side of my giant cast iron grill/griddle thing) over high heat, I just thought, ‘Derp.  Maybe these are some sort of special, high heat pancakes!’  They’re not.  Cook them on medium-low.  Or just burn the shit out of your pancakes.  Whichever you like.

Someday I will learn to make pancakes and not ruin them all.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2011 9:08 pm

    oh noes! Well, they still look good to me, even if they are a little burnt. I cook my pancakes on medium high heat… but I think it depends a LOT on your stovetop/their stovetop… definitely a good time to trust your instincts. Glad they were tasty either way!

  2. October 16, 2011 10:21 pm

    oh man, you and me both on fubb’n up pancakes. mine are either dry as shiz or downright squidgy in the middle. i cannot win. medium heat, medium-low heat, medium-high heat – i always mess them up. doesn’t stop me though, i still make them every now and again and even though i get all frustrated i still keep at it. ahahahhhaa! hooooray for one tasty fancy breakfast – and like you, i adore spaghetti for breakfast most days. i’m a savory kinda gal.

  3. October 17, 2011 4:32 am

    I dunno man, I prefer burnt pancakes to raw ones any day. These look pretty tasty to me!

    In the meantime, my trick is to constantly adjust the heat up and down, the pan seems to heat up the second you take one pancake off, so the heat needs to be lowered for the next pancake… but thats pretty fussy.

  4. October 17, 2011 12:15 pm

    Despite the burn parts, your pancakes look lovely… I’ve never eaten pancakes with so much chocolate in them… it must be something!

  5. October 19, 2011 10:32 am

    I suck at cooking pancakes in a frying pan, my burners get super hot even over medium low heat and I tend to always end up with burnt outsides and mushy insides. If I had followed those instructions I would have ended up with little black hockey pucks. They look tasty none the less. At least you were able to salvage them and enjoy some chocolatey goodness.

  6. October 21, 2011 3:59 pm

    I learned a trick for pancakes from my mom – Heat the pan to medium or so, then flick a little bit of water onto it. If the water dances around for a second or two before evaporating, you’re good. If it evaporates immediately it’s too hot, and if it takes longer it’s too cool. It’s worked for me!

Leave a Reply

