Skip to content

More Leek Love

October 17, 2011

Some might consider this to actually be a fancy Sunday meal, but it comes together fairly quickly and is just oh-so-comforting after a harrowing day at work, that I say we should all treat ourselves to it during the week.  That’s right, folks, an old favorite of mine (read more about it here [with a hilarious ode to biscuits!] and here), the Leek and Bean Cassoulet from Veganomicon.

perfection.

What’s not to love about this dish?  The mellow and smooth onion flavor of the leeks, creamy white beans, tender and sweet carrots, hearty potatoes…all in a velvety gravy, flecked with fresh thyme, and topped with fluffy biscuits.  By the way, don’t skimp and use dried thyme for this, I did once and ruined it.  Fresh is the only way to go!  At first glance, this recipe may seem a bit involved, but the way the instructions are written shows that, if you’re a good multitasker (which I am), this can really come together in around an hour, maybe less if you’re a fast chopper.

I changed only one thing this time around – instead of using two leeks and an onion, I just used three leeks.  Because I love leeks that much.  Plus, you can only buy leeks in bundles of three around here, so I figured I might as well use them all up.  This is especially delicious once you break up the biscuit and it gets all covered in the gravy and you can eat up little bits of the biscuit with each bite.  Like dumplings, but not gross (wet dough, ugh).

And really, it just looks so pretty and rustic in that cast iron pan, doesn’t it?  Unfortunately, I didn’t finish this until way after dark, so the photos are a little…discolored, even after retouching.  You get the idea, though.  Veggies!  Leeks!  Beans!  Gravy!  Biscuits!  Hooray!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2011 11:58 am

    I’d totally forgotten about this cassoulet! And what’s not to love about it? Your three leek leekness sounds perfect to me. And, mmm, biscuit crust, I love it!

  2. October 17, 2011 12:04 pm

    This is one of those dishes from V’con that I can’t believe I haven’t made yet. You make it sound so delicious. I’ve gotta get on the ball and make that dish!

  3. October 17, 2011 12:12 pm

    I actually find your pictures very nice.

    I love this recipe from Veganomicon. I must make it at least a couple of times every year.

  4. October 17, 2011 12:33 pm

    i’ve been wanting to make this recipe for a while now. it looks delicious! and i think your pics still look great 😉

  5. October 17, 2011 12:33 pm

    I had never heard of this cookbook before. I’m adding it to the list of vegan cookbooks I’m going to get. 🙂 Thanks for the post!

  6. October 17, 2011 2:51 pm

    What a beauty. I love this dish. I’ve only made it once and definitely need to rectify that asap! Thanks for the reminder

  7. October 17, 2011 3:23 pm

    I really love that cassoulet & now that I own a skillet there’ll be less washing up to do next time I make it.

  8. October 17, 2011 3:57 pm

    I’ve always looked at that recipe but never made it before, but now I’m going to have to! Leeks are my favorite fall vegetable. Mouth-watering photos.

  9. Katie permalink
    October 17, 2011 4:12 pm

    aw, it looks so elegant garnished with that sprig of thyme!

  10. October 17, 2011 6:28 pm

    Well, I haven’t looked at your blog since before October (I don’t have an RSS feed or Google reader) and had a lot to catch up on! (Yay!)
    This is also a recipe I haven’t gotten to. I tested for V’con and didn’t end up trying it during the testing. Mostly b/c I’m a half-ass tester…
    I freakin’ love biscuits/dumplings and leeks though, so I need to get to it soon.

  11. October 17, 2011 7:44 pm

    I adore that cassoulet. Yours looks much prettier than mine usually does, though. I made it one time without the leeks and just used onion, it tasted so sad.

  12. October 17, 2011 9:34 pm

    Oh my goodness! I am so making this for thanksgiving.

  13. October 19, 2011 2:52 pm

    Uh oh. I think I need a massive casserole full of this, like, right now.

  14. October 21, 2011 6:59 am

    Hey there, I’ve passed you on the little ‘Liebster’ award – pop over to my blog (www.peasoupeats.com) for further instructions:) p.s. lovely blog!

Leave a Reply

