Skip to content

Turnip Nachos?

November 5, 2011

Yep.

yep yep yep.

Apparently, it’s possible to Mexican-ize almost any vegetable.  We have these new next door neighbors, and they keep giving us vegetables!  Which is pretty awesome.  I’m a planner, though, so when presented with a giant bag of mystery veg, I tend to immediately start racking my brain for options, options, options.  You’d think it would have been easy, when they gave us the giant basket of tomatoes the first day we moved in, but I had to make it difficult.  I still haven’t used up the monstrous bag of jalapenos and banana peppers they gave us two weeks ago.  I keep thinking I’m going to make jalapeno poppers again, but never get around to doing it.  So this time, I wanted to keep it simple.  I love roasted turnips.  Love them!  They’re so tasty!  Sweet, earthy, and a really great alternative to the usual roasted root veggies like potatoes or carrots.  (Next up: carrot nachos?)  Anyway, I wanted to use up some of the plethora of hot peppers in my fridge (plus, roasted jalapenos taste so amazing), so I decided to try to make Mexi-turnips.  About 6 large turnips, 6 jalapenos, 2 red chiles, and a green pepper later (so much chopping!), I had a baking sheet full of potential awesomeness.  I seasoned them with whole cumin seeds, garlic powder (I know, I was sick of chopping by that point, though!), onion powder (I knoooow), smoked paprika, and salt and tossed it all with a tablespoon or so of olive oil.  Then into the oven!  When things started looking roasty and smelling delicioso, out they came, and boy howdy were these turnips spicy.  Whoa.  I like ’em that way, but if you don’t like spice and you make them at home, adjust the amount of jalapenos to your preferred heat level.

While these were in the oven, I whipped up the rest of the nachos fixings.  Basically I just tossed some kidney beans in a pan with half a packet of generic taco seasoning (again, I know!  But the flavor always reminds me of my dad, who used to make us bean burritos when I was a kid, and this is the same seasoning he used…you can’t fight memories, people.) and made Joanna’s most amazing nacho cheese sauce, about which I have raved over and over.  Want some more raving?  Okey dokey.  It’s easy to make, as in: dump, blend, whisk, done.  It’s delicious.  Omnivores love it.  It’s perfect for nachos.  It’s also perfect for a sandwich spread after being refrigerated (it firms up quite a bit).  I want to drink it.  But seriously.  Unfortunately, Yellow Rose Recipes is out of print (bummer for those of you who don’t own it!).  I’m not into typing up cookbook recipes for you guys, because I feel like it cheats the author out of future sales if their recipes are just all over the internet (not sure how my ethics queue up with an out of print book…), but some other person (maybe they got permission?  I hope so.) posted the recipe for the nacho sauce here, if you’re interested.  Anyway!  Turnip nachos were a success!  I didn’t make guacamole because I was trying to keep them relatively low-fat, but that would be a nice addition.  It totally was not weird eating turnips with nachos, by the way.  They fit in like a cool kid at a new school.

i love my creation.

The best part is that it made enough for me to have leftovers a couple of times, so I got to enjoy them over and over!  Now I feel kind of unstoppable.  What else can I nacho-ize?  Anything….anything!  Mwahahaha.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. choirqueer permalink
    November 5, 2011 12:04 pm

    Turnip nachos, oh my god! Now I’m hungry.

  2. Kristy permalink
    November 5, 2011 12:23 pm

    Do you have Vegan on the Cheap? There is a recipe in that book for Cheapamole, which is an awesome low fat guac substitute. The flavor isn’t spot on with guac, but its so yummy in its own way. Plus, you can add one avocado and make it more guac like. I really like the rest of that book too.

    • November 5, 2011 12:30 pm

      I don’t have it! I was once burned by one of her cookbooks because all of the recipes in it were really bland for my tastes…maybe I’ll check it out, though. I kind of see guac as a treat, and I don’t eat it terribly often, but it would be nice to have a low-fat sub for when I want a treat, but don’t deserve one that week, haha.

      • Kristy permalink
        November 5, 2011 12:33 pm

        It is kind of a basic cookbook, and that’s what I use it for. We have it at the library. I decided to buy it after I checked it out 3 times in a row.

  3. November 5, 2011 11:07 pm

    This is hilarious. Turnip nachos, whodathunk? And next – pumpkin nachos?

    • choirqueer permalink
      November 5, 2011 11:31 pm

      Pumpkin nachos?! Someone invent this, please!

  4. November 6, 2011 2:08 am

    I have no idea what a turnip tastes like! I’ve only ever had them roasted with a bunch of other root veggies, which I think confuses the taste a bit. I love this idea of yours! I vote for beet nachos next.

    xo
    kittee

  5. candicepeak permalink
    November 6, 2011 9:07 pm

    Looks amazing!

  6. November 8, 2011 2:33 pm

    I think I am having a problem with my lack of root veg nachos in general now. & with turnips, the most underused vegetable of all time! YAY!

Trackbacks

  1. Pumpkin Nachos! « Awesome. Vegan. Rad.

Leave a Reply

