Skip to content

Basil Me This.

November 6, 2011

Basil me that?  I don’t know, I have Batman stuck in my head for some reason.  Guess what?  Basil is my favorite herb.  It used to be rosemary (which I almost never use anymore!  Weird!), but basil takes the cake for me these days.  I have to actually restrain myself from eating pesto every day.  Seriously, every day.  I have a giant freezer bag full of pesto cubes from a giant batch of the stuff I make every summer (just freeze it in ice cube trays, then transfer to a freezer bag – single serving pesto cubes!) and I have to, like, avert my eyes when I open the freezer, just so I don’t use it all up.  I’m gonna need that shiz to last me through the cold, crappy winter months!  That’s kind of my point – I can get basil cheap at the farmers market in the height of summer (and yes, I have a plant in my window, but it takes a long time for it to grow enough for pesto), but who wants to pay for those stupid $2 packs of herbs at the grocery store?  I mean, there’s enough rosemary in them.  And plenty of thyme.  But the amount of basil that fits into those little containers is just not enough!  I know, they sell the giant tub, too.  And guess what?  After just telling you how I hate buying fresh herbs off season because of how pricey they are, I’m going to admit that I spoiled myself last week.  I bought some fresh basil.  I even bought the giant tub because they were out of the little one.  Because I really wanted to make the Cauliflower Pesto Soup from Appetite for Reduction!

liquid pesto yumminess.

Soup is ugly, sometimes.  Anyway, this was fantastic!  Since it gets pureed in the end, it only takes a minute to chop up the cauliflower, and it came together so quickly!  I will say that the added starch (corn or arrowroot?  I don’t remember) was superfluous.  It never actually got ‘thick’, and I kind of didn’t want it to.  You’re blending it all up at the end, why the need for a thickener?  I just don’t get it.  Regardless, the soup was wonderful in its basil-y goodness.  I did not add the toasted pine nuts at the end (because expensive!  and yuck!), and I didn’t really miss them, but next time I might add a few cashews.  I prefer to make my pesto with cashews anyway.  Next time I make this, I’ll prepare a double batch – I needed more leftovers!

Basically, if you love basil, make this soup.  The end.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 6, 2011 9:08 pm

    I admire yr forethought in freezing basil. I love it too but yah, my wee window pot is never enough. Never enough basil! Point being, soup sounds bomb. I’m totally jealous.

Leave a Reply

