Skip to content

First Time for Everything.

December 13, 2011

Can you believe I has never made, or even eaten, peanut noodles? It seems ridiculous, so last night I made some. This week I’m cooking from the Linda McCartney On Tour cookbook, an old-ish, eclectic collection of vegetarian and vegan recipes from around the world. I haven’t cooked much from it yet, but so far, so good.

20111213-085225.jpg
I threw caution to the wind and added all 5 tablespoons of the sesame oil called for, in addition to 3/4 cup + 1 tablespoon of chunky peanut butter. And these were decadent, but without feeling heavy. The rice noodles are so light, and the steamed broccoli and cauliflower make the dish seem nice and healthy, even though it’s basically just a huge, fried peanut butter sandwich. Elvis would be proud.

(Side note – this is my first food post done from my iPod touch. What do you think?)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2011 9:08 am

    Peanut noodles are my favorite quick worknight meal. I even make peanut ramen noodles when I’m feeling super lazy.

  2. candicepeak permalink
    December 13, 2011 9:19 am

    This looks great! Peanut noodles are one of my favorites. Love!

  3. December 13, 2011 11:22 pm

    Peanut noodles are awesome!! I totally agree with the decadent-yet-healthy impression. Now I want some even though I’m currently full of red beans & rice…

    • December 14, 2011 9:13 am

      You just reminded me that I wanted to make red beans & rice next week! Another first, if you can believe it.

  4. December 13, 2011 11:45 pm

    Peanut sauce really does legitimize a simple stir-fry, doesn’t it? After reading your post, it got me in the mood to make peanut noodles tonight with wide rice noodles. I love that anything can be used in a stir-fry as far as vegetables. It’s wide open.

  5. December 14, 2011 3:32 am

    Oooo, I do so love me some peanut noodles. I usually make peanut sauce sans oil but with tomato paste and a variety of other items then add it to whatever pasta I have, sprouts, grilled tofu, cilantro, sugarsnap peas, lime and lots of chili!

    Mmm, I’m getting hungry!

    • December 14, 2011 9:15 am

      Next time I’m not going to use the oil – the leftovers have been leaving me a bit queasy, and I’m sure it’s because the noodles are so greasy. I like the idea of adding tomato paste and tofu!

Leave a Reply

