Skip to content

Brinner for Two

December 15, 2011

Last night I went to my friend Becca’s house for a little breakfast for dinner. I rarely make traditional breakfast foods, because I’m not that ambitious in the mornings, and I don’t always love the sweet aspect of the fare. However, Becca had a recipe from the Happy Herbivore cookbook (is there more than one? It was on her kindle, so I didn’t see the cover.) that had brown rice flour in it, and we were both intrigued, so we risked it.

20111215-105250.jpg
I flipped the pancakes (I’m getting better!) while she roasted up some potatoes and made a wonderful strawberry sauce from some frozen berries. All in all, this brinner was a success! The potatoes were nice and garlicky, the pancakes were light and fluffy, with a great kick of cinnamon, but the strawberry sauce stole the show. Or, at least it just paired so perfectly with the pancakes…sweet and tart and fruity – it really brightened up the dish. I may have to purchase this cookbook, if all the recipes are this easy and work so well!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2011 11:04 am

    I like her recipes, but I’ve never made one that I didn’t have to make some change to in order for it to work out. I like the IDEA of her recipes, but if I tried to follow them exactly, they wouldn’t work out. For example, I have this pumpkin biscuit recipe of hers that I really like, but it calls for like, 1 cup + a little of flour. That is NOT ENOUGH flour. It’s more like, 2 cups plus a little. I find her recipes are like that more often than not. It’s not a huge problem, because I’m not too scared to just tweak it to make it work but for a newbie cook I bet it’d be challenging.

  2. December 19, 2011 8:59 pm

    Love your brinner! The strawberry sauce sounds so kickin’!

  3. Cooking Books is Vegan permalink
    January 1, 2012 8:12 pm

    She has a blog, and two cookbooks out now. I love her “un”fried beans, as I call them, because they taste just like refried beans, but no added fat. However, I’ve tried a handful of other recipes with no success. Her black beans brownies were a nightmare for me, and I’ve made two different kinds of biscuits that were just plain lackluster. Also, I input her recipes into Calorie Count, and consistently come up with far higher calorie amounts then she claims on her blog. (And I try, subbing fake sugar for her real sugar and it still doesn’t add up.) She admits to using a program on her computer for her calorie amounts. It just makes me distrust her nutritional claims altogether. I’m persevering, and plan on trying her Black Bean Burger recipe among a few others on her blog. Unless I find more to love about her blog recipes, however, I am very unlikely to purchase either of her books.

Leave a Reply

