Skip to content

Zucchini ‘Pasta’ with Cheezy Tomato Basil Cream Sauce.

July 18, 2012

If any of you have read my About page, you’ll see that I wrote once upon a time that I would give you inspiration for, among other things, all the tomatoes you got at the farmers market.  It’s time for me to put my money where my mouth is because my CSA bag this week contained fifteen (15!!) tomatoes.  Two onions, six green peppers, and fifteen tomatoes.  I was hoping for a little more variety when I joined up, but at least I get a challenge every week.  And you know what?  Challenge accepted.  I also wrote on that About page that you would rarely see any recipes on this blog, but I’m trying to change that.  All the best food blogs have recipes, and since Awesome. Vegan. Rad. is one of the best food blogs (ahem), I guess I should follow suit, starting with this raw recipe that will help clear out your fridge a bit when your garden or farmers market or CSA is overflowing with produce!

Zucchini ‘Pasta’ with Cheezy Tomato Basil Cream Sauce

1/2 an avocado

1 small tomato, cut into chunks

1 green onion (scallion), cut into chunks

2 Tbsp nutritional yeast

1/4 cup fresh basil

1/4 tsp salt

fresh cracked pepper, to taste

1 small-ish zucchini, shredded or spiralized

a few cherry tomatoes, halved

Method:

Add avocado, tomato, onion, nutritional yeast, basil, salt and pepper to a food processor and process until smooth, scraping down the sides as needed.  Taste sauce for salt and combine with shredded zucchini and halved cherry tomatoes.  Serves one.  That’s it!

It really only took me about 5 minutes to make this lunch, and there is no stove top or oven heat to make you more miserable in this ridiculous summer heat!  It makes a really saucy one person portion, and you could probably add in another zucchini and still have plenty of sauce to cover it, and thus serve more than one person.  I just like my pasta (zucchini or otherwise) really saucy.  The flavor of this is darned yummy.  Super creamy from the avocado, and the nutritional yeast lends just a touch of cheezy goodness.  And you know the combination of tomato and basil can never lose.  I added the green onion instead of garlic in this case because I find that raw garlic can be really overpowering.  The green onion lends just enough of that allium pizazz.  Since the zucchini is relatively flavorless when it’s raw, it’s a perfect base for a sauce that packs a flavor punch.  Oh, I also garnished this with some edible flower petals, calendula and bachelor’s button.  My mom sent me some edible flower seeds for Valentine’s Day this year, and they have been just lovely additions to salads and meals like this one.

What else…?  Oh!  The sungold cherry tomatoes and the basil are also from my garden!  It’s so neat to be able to walk out my back door and just pick herbs and a few little tomatoes as I need them.  I’ve really loved the gardening experience so far.  There is only a little space in my yard for one raised bed and a few pots, so it’s not a lot of work, but it’s just so rewarding.  And I grew everything from seed!  Those tomatoes?  Grew them from seeds in my windowsill.  Crazy stuff.

Hope you guys are beating the heat, and I hope this recipe helps you along the way.  (By the way, here are the local ingredients I used: zucchini, tomato, cherry tomatoes, basil, and flowers.  Not bad!)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2012 5:20 pm

    I love this idea of this quick avocado sauce! And I’m jealous of your homegrown tomatoes–mine are all still green, and look likely to stay that way until August. Soon, though!

    • July 19, 2012 9:41 am

      I planted the cherry tomato seeds in mid-March, and we have had an unseasonably warm spring and summer, so I guess they came on early! I was surprised to see tomatoes (full sized ones, not cherry) in my CSA bag so early! Usually at the farmers market, they don’t start showing up until later in July. It’s always worth the wait, though!

  2. July 24, 2012 10:19 pm

    I’ll raise you your tomatoes with several 2-3 lb zucchinis 🙂 That pasta is on my to-make list if only to use up the zukes! Looks great!

  3. July 25, 2012 4:18 am

    I adore nutritional yeasts; it’s so versatile. And I like the addition of avocado. This looks tempting.

    ❀ It’s Carmen

Trackbacks

  1. Vegan Crowdsource Recipe Testing - Vegan Summer Recipes The Unintentional Vegan

Leave a Reply

