Skip to content

How Does Your Garden Grow?

July 25, 2012

I love my postage stamp garden.  This is my first year doing any serious (and I use the word ‘serious’ rather lightly) gardening, and while my yard isn’t big enough to yield a substantial crop, it’s enough to have a few sides of veggies and some herbs and a little snip of things here and there.  I grew every bit of it from seed (except for 3 of my herbs that just wouldn’t sprout), and I just couldn’t be more proud.  I think it’s really important for everyone to try growing at least a little bit of their own food at some point.  It really puts the whole food buying and consuming process into perspective.  People work hard to put those veggies on your table!  And there is nothing more satisfying than eating something that you grew from a seed.  From the first exciting moment that it sprouts, to watching it grow over time, digging it up and getting your hands dirty, rinsing, prepping, cooking (or not!), and eating…you did that!  All of it!  How neat!  (Time for photos because my brain is dead from teaching 10 year olds art all week.)

Winter squash vine that is taking over the world.

Sungold cherry tomatoes.

Serrano peppers.

Radishes, which were particularly prolific.

Tiny pea.

Full grown peas.

I was really excited about the fact that I grew peas, can you tell?

Edamame!

I ate this delicious butterhead lettuce for weeks this spring!

Broccoli takes forever to grow, but it was delicious.

Green cauliflower.  Cauliflower was not fun to grow.  The bugs loved it too much, and it took even longer than the broccoli to get heads on it.

Rainbow radish mix, chioggia beets, and turnips.  Beets and turnips were bonus awesome because I got to eat their greens, too.  My root crops did really well!  The carrots are incredibly long, and my parsnip plants are gigantic.  I don’t want to wait until after the frost to dig them up, but I must!

I tried to grow mostly things that I couldn’t find at the farmers market.  Our market usually just has the basics: tomatoes, corn, bell peppers, eggplants, potatoes.  Good, but b-o-r-i-n-g.  My favorite things to grow so far were the head lettuce and the edamame.  I never knew they were so easy!  More pictures at some point of my carrots, parsnips, leeks, and winter squash.  How exciting!

What are you growing this year?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2012 4:54 pm

    Reblogged this on Gardens for Cheap$kates and commented:
    Great colors- great looking stuff.

    I am going to plant edamame next year_shortly after new year….

    I had cauliflower in 3 colors this year (white/purple and gold) All great Plus it is fun. Like being a kid with box of crayons.

    • July 25, 2012 6:23 pm

      Thank you! Edamame is so easy, they grow just like bush beans. I enjoy the multi-colored cauliflower, but it didn’t grow well for me!

  2. July 25, 2012 5:14 pm

    I love this post!! I am growing lettuce and pumpkins on a apartment balcony- it can be done. Next year I want to add kale. I heard it’s hearty.

    • July 25, 2012 6:23 pm

      I love that you can use any small space to grow something! I’m trying for a fall kale harvest. We’ll see! I need to plant it soon!

  3. July 25, 2012 5:48 pm

    That is some serious garden you got going there. Super. Jealous.

  4. July 28, 2012 7:32 pm

    These photos are gorgeous! I’m growing veggies in small raised beds and it’s amazing how much you can get with such a small space. But WOW, did you get a lot more peas than I did.

    • July 29, 2012 10:45 pm

      I got exactly 1 cup from the entire row of plants. Just enough for a risotto!

  5. July 30, 2012 4:00 pm

    Those veggies look yummy. I really would like to eat fresh peas since I never did. I’m soo looking forward to being able to grow some stuff myself. But since I’m not settled yet, I just tried dill seeds which didn’t grew so well. Maybe it was just a bit too hot here in Florida.
    The roasted tomato soup sounds delicious, too. I have to keep that in mind. : )

  6. August 1, 2012 5:01 pm

    I love this!

    I’ve started to blog about gardening on my blog, as well as my regularly-scheduled vegan cooking blogging. Maybe, if you check out my blog and like it, you’d also be so kind as to add me to your list of other vegan blogs?

    Have a yummy day!

  7. August 12, 2012 10:21 pm

    Your pea pictures are beautiful! I only had 4 plants growing this year (my first year gardening) and I wish I had had more. They are so tasty.

    I had never seen an edamame plant before, but seeing how easy you say it is to grow, I might try it next year. What do you plant? Soy beans????

Leave a Reply

