Skip to content

Creamy Tomato Cashew Pasta Sauce, an Almost Recipe

August 8, 2012

Sometimes, I drink a couple of beers while I’m cooking.  Usually, that means I don’t measure anything, let alone write it down.  And normally, I might not even try to tell you about it, except that this pasta sauce was kind of outstanding.  The boyfriend is still talking about it, and in fact chastised me a tiny bit the other night for not writing it down.  Gah.  But I remember the basics of what went down, so here you go.

There was a huge onion, which I chopped, and a lot of garlic, too.

There were a few tomatoes, because this was the last of those 15 tomatoes my CSA gave me.

I wanted it creamy, so I added cashews and blended it up, but then it wasn’t creamy enough, so I also added half an avocado and blended it again.

I grabbed herbs from the garden: thyme, basil, oregano.

Probably there is some nutritional yeast in there, definitely salt and pepper.

what else could be lurking?

So!  Figure it out?  I’m going to have to make it again and make sure I pay attention this time, because it was such a hit.  The pasta was also amazing, and local!  Some kind of pasta that has tofu in it, from our new local foods store.  I haven’t seen it there since, but I’m keeping my eye out!

I do remember this being really easy to make, the boyfriend being skeptical because of how many onions I added, and then still loving it, it being really creamy, and then it tasting horrible two days later on top of raw zucchini.  So it didn’t refrigerate well, but hot, it was fabulous.

So many mysteries to solve, so little time.

Local: tomatoes, onion, thyme, oregano, basil.

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2012 12:21 pm

    looks amazing! cashews always make the creamiest sauces!

  2. veganappetite permalink
    August 8, 2012 1:17 pm

    Sometimes the best recipes are never written down. Looks awesome!

  3. August 8, 2012 2:40 pm

    That’s how I cook almost every time! I think about it like this: everyone is going to have some variation in available ingredients or personal preference anyway, so why not present flexible recipes? This sauce does sound great–must try!

    • August 8, 2012 6:07 pm

      Good point. I always change recipes around and generally use blog recipes as guidelines more than anything!

  4. August 8, 2012 3:37 pm

    Wow, that looks amazing–even better that there’s no hard & fast recipe. I mean, it all depends on the size and kind of tomatoes and so many other factors! You cook the way I do too–drink a beer or three, throw things together, voila, deliciousness/oh crap I need a recipe. 🙂

    • August 8, 2012 6:09 pm

      I’ve always been a ‘just throw things in until it tastes good’ kind of cook. Writing things down is so hard, especially when you’ve had a beer or three.

  5. August 9, 2012 4:55 pm

    This is my favorite method of cooking as well. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. New highs, new lows | Great Vegan Expectations

Leave a Reply

