Skip to content

Garden Update

August 12, 2012

Just wanted to give a quick garden update!

I has carrots!  So darned tasty.  Growing your own is so satisfying.

A tiny winter squash.  Unfortunately, this one shriveled up and died a couple of days later.

But!  I have another female flower!  I had no ideas these were so few and far between.  I’m hoping those bees brought some pollen from this guy:

It’s pretty fascinating how different the two types of flowers are.  I never knew!  (Until the awesome guy that works in the art museum’s conservatory told me.)

Two types of thyme! (alliteration, much?)  Though I don’t know the difference.

Sage.  Hope this buddy hold out til fall, because I have a really great butternut squash recipe that calls for it!

And finally, my lovely bridal veil hanging basket.  I loves it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2012 9:21 pm

    I’ve only grown sage once, but it was a hardy plant that lasted well into the fall (and even through some frosts). Yours should do fine as well!

  2. August 12, 2012 10:15 pm

    I didn’t know you could see the difference between male and female flowers… I guess that explains why some flowers do not turn into fruits?

    I love sage… the fresh one has such a strong perfume. I wish I had grown some this year.

    • August 12, 2012 10:19 pm

      Yep! You can see from the photos that the insides of the flowers are different, but the female flowers also have a fruit-like bulb at the base. Only the female flowers produce fruit (or veggies)!

  3. August 13, 2012 2:16 pm

    Love your garden! The carrots look great! Mine were all tiny and didn’t grow. Made for a cute salad, but not much else. Good luck with the squash!

Leave a Reply

