Skip to content

Vegan Camping with Style

August 19, 2012

Or, as the boyfriend and I called it, glamping.  My parents let us borrow their little pop-up camper, so we weren’t exactly roughing it, but we were outdoors a whole lot and we didn’t have electricity or running water!  Their camper has a wee gas stovetop, so I got to cook whatever I wanted.  I totally could have gone all veggie dogs and corn on the cob the whole time, but that is not exactly how I roll (complicated much?), so I made real food for us.  Don’t worry, I also made sure to supply tons of junk food for us to snack on late into the night while we drank beers and played Monopoly (reality: the boyfriend thumped me at Monopoly while I threw fits because I’m a penny pincher even in pretend-land).  Anyhow, here are some low quality photos of our food and our sights!  I only took my iPod because I didn’t want to lug around my good DSLR, and it’s a good thing since my iPod screen got totally shattered and if that had happened to my camera, I might have died.

Our first night I whipped up some quick burritos.  The corn was cut off ears from my parents’ garden!  A protein packed meal to get us ready for lots of hiking the next day.

The night before we left, I made the pancake batter from Vegan with a Vengeance (minus the cinnamon), put it in a freezer bag, and then on ice, ready for our first morning!  Lovely eaten with a cup of tea on a cool morning by the river.

I also marinated and baked the smokey tofu from Vegan World Feast before we left, which we ate on sandwiches.  So good!  In the back is some couscous with tomatoes and capers from Veganomicon, also made before we left.  (I’m a planner, no?)

A truly terrible picture of the Arabian rice and lentil soup from Appetite for Reduction.  So delicious.

I had brought along some Bob’s Red Mill 5 grain hot breakfast that was tasty with apples, cinnamon, and maple syrup.

On our last evening, I roasted of loads of veggies from our CSA and my parents’ garden: green beans, eggplant, bell peppers, squash, onions, tomatoes, garlic.  This time I actually used the fireplace!  With some lemon juice and plenty of salt and pepper, they were hearty and yummy over some whole wheat penne.  You just can’t beat that charred flavor you get when you roast veggies over an open flame!

We also made smores with Dandie’s and rice milk chocolate that were amazing and just like the smores of my childhood, but it was too dark to take a photo by then.  Even my parents (who came out to visit during our last evening) said they were just as good as nonvegan ones!

Aside from eating ourselves silly, the boyfriend and I hiked a lot with our dog and did a little tubing down the river, even though the water was ridiculously cold for August.  I’ll finish up with the photos I took along the way!

Walking on all this moss and pine needles was like walking atop a thick and bouncy carpet.

Rowdy was very curious about all those caves.

The boyfriend finally got why the rhododendron is our state flower!

There were so many different sorts of interesting mushrooms and of course I forgot my mushroom book.  So much for all the planning.

Scariest but most exhilarating bit of trail!

Not into swimming so much as just wading.

I want to go back!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2012 2:36 pm

    I am totally the same way when I go camping 🙂 I’ll make Sweet Potato & Black Bean Stew from ED&BV, a huge pan of cornbread, pancake batter, black bean & avocado salad, and other things…I just can’t handle the idea of veggie burgers or dogs! I’m sure we’re not the only ones, though!

    • August 19, 2012 11:23 pm

      It’s funny, because I love eating veggie burgers and not dogs when I’m grilling out at home! I just love the challenge of cooking in the wilderness and ending up with something really delicious.

  2. August 19, 2012 4:35 pm

    It sounds like you had a great trip. I wouldn’t mind at all eating all the good food on camping and not getting too sick of chips. And those smores!

  3. August 20, 2012 5:59 am

    I love taking a van camping! It’s so nice being able to cook fun meals semi-easily. This past weekend I went to a festival and had to work out how to feed two vegans without any kind of cooking equipment…we ate a lot of Clif bars, cookies, muffins & crisps! I ❤ all the pictures of Rowdy too, so cute!

    • August 20, 2012 11:08 am

      No cooking equipment at all! I’m impressed! (And thank you, I love him so!)

  4. Laura L permalink
    August 20, 2012 11:45 am

    Wonderful photos!

  5. August 20, 2012 12:32 pm

    Looks like a fun trip. The hike looks awesome. 🙂 I love camping so much. Charred flavor + being outside in beautiful surroundings + it just feels like a much bigger accomplishment to cook successfully = food tastes amazing.

  6. August 30, 2012 4:32 pm

    This is basically the best vegan-camping-food I’ve ever seen ever. Especially impressed with those pancakes. What forethought!

    Also, I’m really glad you didn’t eat that mushroom – it would have made you extremely sick, if not killed you. 😦 😦 😦 But you probably know enough about mushrooms to know that! My dad is a master forager. When we went on a walk in the woods last weekend he found some real gems. If you like mushrooms you should check out the post! http://cracktheplates.com/2012/08/happy-birthday-to-my-momma/

    • August 30, 2012 4:36 pm

      I would never eat any type of mushroom in the wild without knowing for sure what it was! I would love to become a real forager. I will check out your post!

  7. Bri permalink
    September 10, 2015 1:00 am

    where did you guys camp and hike?

Trackbacks

  1. Corn Coming out of My Ears. « Awesome. Vegan. Rad.
  2. Summer of Soup « Awesome. Vegan. Rad.

Leave a Reply

