Skip to content

Corn Coming out of My Ears.

August 22, 2012

Ah, corn.  Sweet, delicious, yellow, and bright.  And versatile!  And not entirely nutritionally void.  In fact, I just did a little internet search (so tech savvy!) and found that corn is high in fiber and folate.  It may otherwise just be carbs, but I’m ok with eating all of the carbs.  But when I recently came into a boatload of corn, I kind of panicked.  I can’t eat it off the cob because it gets stuck in my sadly-crowded-by-wisdom-teeth teeth.  And just cut off the ear and cooked on the stove top is b-o-r-i-n-g.  One of my favorite uses is in the corn and veggie chowder in Appetite for Reduction, so I made that.  Some of it went into the burritos while we were camping.  But somehow, when I got home from camping, I still had, like, 6 ears of corn left.  How?!  I had already used up several in dishes before we left!  What a happy problem.  To the internet I went with all of this corn(y) drama, and found some interesting ideas!

Fettucine with Sweet Corn Cream by Love and Lemons.  This is one of my new favorite blogs.  It’s not vegan, but there are occasionally vegan recipes and loads of pretty photos and good ideas.  The recipe is linked, and if you click on it and look at the beautiful photograph of her version of this dish, you might begin to suspect, as I have, that there is not actually any of the corn sauce on her noodles.  So mine is what it really looks like, which is kind of ugly.  I mean, I don’t have a Vitamix or anything, so it’s not quite as creamy as it could have been, but still.  I used green beans instead of leafy greens, because I had them on hand.  Anyway, my thoughts of this dish are as follows: this is a great idea, but there are too many almonds in it.  I like the flavor that the almond lends, but it made the sauce too thick and overly rich for my tastes.  Next time I make it, I will leave out at least half of the almonds and add some unsweetened almond milk to give some of that flavor and at the same time thin it out a bit.  (Also, just in case anyone thinks I’m overlooking this, her recipe calls for agave or honey.  Please use agave if you want it to be truly vegan.)  Oh, also I didn’t have any real pasta in my house (I know, blasphemy), so I used couscous.  Don’t do that.  It was weird.

Sweet corn ceviche by Sprouted Kitchen.  Another of my new favorite blogs, and again vegetarian instead of vegan, but same story as before: some vegan recipes, lovely photos, great ideas.  And good writing on both counts as well.  Sometimes I just want to scan a blog for recipes and photos, but I really love it when the writing draws me in.  At any rate, this recipe for corn ceviche is just brilliant!  Listen – I’ve never had a seafood ceviche, and didn’t even know what it was until I stopped eating meat, but I always thought after learning about it that it would probably be awesome.  What’s not to love about lots of lime?  Well, the fish part.  Enter our hero, corn!  Corn tastes nothing like fish, but it pairs just beautifully with lime and cilantro.  There was the added heat of a serrano pepper (from my garden!).  Not going to lie, I ate this entire bowl in one sitting.  What of it?

And finally, more soup.  Above is the roasted yellow pepper and sweet corn bisque from Veganomicon.  I thought about making the corn chowder recipe again, but I found this and decided to try something new!  It still shocks me sometimes how many recipes from Vcon I have yet to make.  So many recipes, so little time!  With this particular gem, I knew it was meant to be since I had found a jar of roasted yellow peppers at Big Lots (majorly discounted!) the prior week.  Because seriously, I most likely never made this recipe because roasting my own peppers is not my idea of fun.  I’m sure it’s easy the way Isa says, but I tried once and it was a debacle.  So.    Not ready to go down that road again.  Having the jarred peppers made everything go much faster (I’m like Sandra Lee over here.  What’s next, baby food?) and this soup was totally ready in under an hour.  I had a moment at the end where I wasn’t totally sure that I would grate in an entire nutmeg…but ended up coming pretty close.  I’m amazed at how well the nutmeg complimented all of the other flavors without becoming overpowering, which it has a tendency to do.

I have made so much soup this summer.  I’m even making more tomorrow.  It’s just such a quick and easy way to eat up lots of veggies.  And one thing I have not had a shortage of this year is veggies.  Shew.  Someone talk me out of joining the fall CSA so I don’t have to figure out what to do with 20 pounds of winter squash a week.  I still have some from last fall in my freezer!

Mmmmm, soup.

Local: corn, serrano peppers.

 

 

 

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2012 3:36 pm

    Ooh, fresh summer corn! I love all these great ideas to use it up. If you have any left over, why not cut the kernels off the cobs, blanch them, and freeze them? That way you get fresh summer corn all winter!

  2. August 24, 2012 1:27 pm

    Wow, I don’t think I’ve ever made that soup from Vcon yet either! Totally making soon with the baskets of corn I’ve been lugging home from market.

  3. August 30, 2012 4:25 pm

    Heh, guilty as charged for the swapping pasta for couscous thing. You’re right. It sucked.

Trackbacks

  1. Summer of Soup « Awesome. Vegan. Rad.

Leave a Reply

