Skip to content

Summer of Soup

August 26, 2012

It’s become a kind of joke around the house that I am making a simply silly amount of soup, regardless of how hot it gets outside.  I brought home a mushroom growing kit yesterday (sweet!  my very own oyster mushrooms!) and the boyfriend asked me if I was going to make soup out of them.  I was halfway through a happy rant about how good oyster mushrooms are in mock clam chowder before I realized he was joshing me.  But I was and continue to be completely serious about soup, people.  For whatever reason, it is all I want to eat lately.  And by lately, I mean for the past three months.  Who knows.  I do love eating things out of bowls.  And with spoons.  And soup is just such an easy way to use up loads of produce!  Quit judging me!

Ode to soup:  hot and creamy, or brothy.  smooth or chunky, you fill me up in the best way.  oh!  most comforting type of food!  i eat you in sickness and in health, til death do us part.

As you can see, soup and I are in a pretty serious relationship.  You’ve already seen evidence of my madness here, here, here, and here.  And now I am about to give you two more!

This first one is actually a bit of a repeat, since I made it while we were camping, but that photo sucked.  Really, this one’s not much better.  Here:

Arabian lentil and rice soup from Appetite for Reduction.  I had skipped over this soup many times, thinking that it looked too simple to be delicious.  Except simple is usually delicious, so I don’t know what I was really thinking.  Loaded with cumin and coriander (my favorites!) and so much lemon juice, it was a new flavor combination to me and I kind of flipped out over how much I loved it.  So much so that I made it twice in as many weeks, which is something I pretty much never do.  Even the boyfriend liked it. While he ate it, he kept nodding his head.  I’m pretty sure that is a good sign.

Oh, hey, have I told you?  I’m kind of into eggplant now.  It’s no big deal.  (It’s such a big deal!)  I’m pretty proud of myself for forcing myself to like it.  I knew my stubbornness would win out in the end.  It usually does.  This is the spicy eggplant peanut stew from Veganomicon.  Another recipe that I had always ignored, this time because of that once wretched nightshade, my kitchen nemesis, eggplant.  But I had an eggplant from my CSA that needed using up, plus some green beans, so I gave it a try.  Glad I did!  My friend Tabitha came over for dinner that night and we both thoroughly enjoyed this.  It is mightily rich, what with all the peanut butter and oil, so one small bowl was enough for this big eater.  That way it lasted longer!  The only qualm I had was how long it took to make, but that’s my own fault for not really reading the directions before beginning.  It’s not low-fat by any means, either, so I can see myself loving this even more when I’m putting on my winterfat in November or so.

Jessica: 1 Eggplant: 0.  It’s really more like Eggplant: 10000000 Jessica: 1, but still.  I won this battle in my war against eggplant, and I will gladly sit back and wallow in the glory of it all.

Local: eggplant, green beans, carrots.

Update: Here is a link to the eggplant stew recipe!  Lucky you!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. melissa permalink
    August 26, 2012 3:45 pm

    They both look delicious! Recipe for the spicy eggplant ?!

  2. August 26, 2012 6:21 pm

    Oh wow. Awesome looking soups. I made FatFreeVegan’s berbere-spiced red lentil hummus yesterday and it was basically really thick soup. I ate it before it cooled, too, so, same. I was definitely thinking about the AfR recipe. Also big into eggplants recently – I can’t pass up cute Farmers market ones and the sriracha swirl seals the deal for me! Nice job. It’s never too hot for tasty food.

  3. August 26, 2012 8:09 pm

    Hooray for summer soup! I make and eat soup all summer too. It’s just good! 🙂 That eggplant peanut stew looks particularly amazing–and what do you know, I have some eggplants that need using up too…

  4. August 26, 2012 11:53 pm

    Yay for soup! I’m a big fan, too, and yours look amazing… I swear soup’s almost even better in the summer (I especially love chili when it’s warm out; weird, I know!).

  5. August 29, 2012 3:08 pm

    Yay for soup, especially eggplant soup! It took me awhile to ‘get’ eggplant, but now we’re best buds. Definitely going to have to check out that stew recipe!

    • August 29, 2012 5:25 pm

      It’s normally a texture thing for me, so it seems that as long as it’s cooked to death, I like it!

  6. August 30, 2012 4:29 pm

    Sometimes I hate WordPress – like, for instance, when it deletes my paragraph-long comments. 😦 Hope you got it! (It’s basically just all about how I’m similarly into summer soup and will be making that eggplant peanut thing [a favorite] tomorrow!)

Leave a Reply

