Skip to content

A Winter Squash is Taking Over My Life

August 28, 2012

My garden update now really only includes my astonishment over my triamble squash.  It’s kind of ridiculous.

Ok, that’s actually a kind of lie, because I just looked at my collection of garden photos and realized I hadn’t shown you some other stuff yet.  We’ll do that first.  Don’t worry, plenty of stupid photos of winter squashes to come.

My collection of serrano peppers.  So weird that I grew these things from a seed.  I created something, from nothing!

Yellow cherry tomatoes thinking about getting ripe.  Also grew these from a seed.  It really does boggle my mind.  (I sound like such a noob gardener, talking with such wonder, but there is so much wonder to behold when you garden!)

This is the only leek that has grown to anything.  The other 8 or so got their sunlight blocked too much from the cauliflower and broccoli, and now the winter squash.  Oh well, at least I learned something about how to lay out my plants for next year!

These are my parsnips.  I bet they’re huge under there.  It’s killing me, waiting until after the first frost to harvest them.

My rosemary plant.  I loves it.

I’ve had this same oregano plant for about two years now, but it is obviously tickled to be outside!

Happy little basil plants.

And now for the stupidness.

WTF.  And it just keeps getting bigger.  That photo was taken over a week ago.

Look at this creep.  Trying to invade the patio.

That female flower I showed you in the last post quickly turned into this.  Just a couple of weeks later, it is now this monster:

Crazy.  I did some reading and found out that these guys can get up to twenty pounds.  And that they need lots of room for growing.  If we’re still in this house next year, I will not be growing squash of any sort.  While awesome, it is a little stressful to try to keep it in bounds of the garden area.  Anyway, here are a few more that are growing.

I guess get ready for lots of winter squash content in the fall.  Because I also joined my fall CSA (why?).  Good thing I love them!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2012 1:54 pm

    SQUAAAASH! That vine is crazy! I don’t have any similar squash stories to tell (I only planted one zucchini plant, and it’s a bush variety), but my tomato plants are totally out of control. Gardens do seem totally miraculous–and unpredictable.

    • August 29, 2012 9:36 am

      I didn’t know a bush variety of zucchini existed! Neat! One of my cherry tomato plants has grown taller than the support I put in the pot and is now leaning at a very precarious rate… Stop…growing?

  2. August 28, 2012 6:47 pm

    What a vital garden! I’m kind of jealous, but looking forward to having my own next year. Wishing you luck wit all that happy crazy plants around your home..

  3. August 29, 2012 11:00 am

    Squash plants get so huge! I have a delicata plant that tried to take over my plot at a community garden, but one branch died and now it’s a bit more modest.

    What variety of winter squash are you growing? I’m not sure I’ve seen those before.

    Your garden looks beautiful.

  4. August 29, 2012 2:54 pm

    Yup, winter squash insanity! My butternut squash took over our entire yard–the mail person has to walk around it in order to reach the house now! And what cute little serranos & a leek, a leek! Can’t wait to diversify my garden a bit next year, definitely planting some leeks 🙂 And parsnips!

  5. August 30, 2012 4:18 pm

    Can I just say that I totally love all of your pictures of your garden and, better still, your enthusiasm for it? Don’t be afraid of sounding like a n00b – it’s refreshing and wonderful for someone who just found your blog and who shares the same enthusiasm for growing things. My mom is a master gardener/horticulturist so I grew up with all of it – helping till and weed and harvest from several acres of organic goodness. These days I live in the city and have this pesky habit of picking temporary living situations that don’t have full sun anywhere on the property. Glad I can live vicariously through your posts!

    –adrienne

    PS: I found you through EatingAppalachia’s awesome vegan blog roll (Hi Jes!). I’m a vegan living in Atlanta, maintaining Atlanta’s vegan resources at http://CrackthePlates.com and http://AtlantaVeganGuide.com

    • August 30, 2012 4:38 pm

      I grew up gardening with my mom too! Glad you’re here, and I can’t wait to check out your site!

Leave a Reply

