Skip to content

Hello, Chicago!

September 13, 2012
tags: ,

We rode the night train into Chicago last night! I only slept a couple of hours, because, hello, train seats are not comfy, but I’m running on adrenaline and am ready to go in search of delicious food. Here are my photos so far:

20120913-121243.jpg
Tea. Delicious, warm tea. I only ate an apple that I brought with me, since the train was leaving so late, but the boyfriend sampled the vegan burger and a brew.

20120913-121412.jpg
That burger has an ok flavor, but the bun is downright nasty. This morning, I bought a bagel (not so great) and slathered on some hummus that I brought. No picture because it was ugly and my iPod was charging. Sitting in the dining car alone at 8am while the countryside passed by the window was just lovely and peaceful, though. I sipped on my tea extra long before going back to my seat.

20120913-121650.jpg
It is very flat here.

20120913-121734.jpg
Also, this was neat. That’s it so far, but I will try to update with photos either at the end or very beginning of each day I’m here. Wish me luck in my travels!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2012 4:50 pm

    Ohh, have super-fun! I just got back from there! I’m surprised there was even a vegan burger on the train..

    • September 13, 2012 11:34 pm

      Yep, it was there when I first rode Amtrak 3 years ago, and it’s still going strong! The flavor has gotten better, but the bun is just…bad. It sticks to your teeth.

  2. September 13, 2012 10:53 pm

    Amtrak travel rules! (Unless you are trying to sleep on the train.) So cool that you found a vegan burger, though. But I’m sure Chicago has much more to offer you.

Leave a Reply

