Skip to content

Good food, tired legs.

September 14, 2012

I’m freaking exhausted right now. We got lost in the dark and rain, and I finally admitted defeat and hailed a $13 cab back to Union Station, but before all that! Such tasty wonders occurred!

20120913-223759.jpg
Vegetarian yakisoba from Mi’s Teriyaki in Aurora (can’t find a website, they seem to be a chain). We needed to find something quick to eat before boarding the commuter train into the city, so after driving around the ‘burbs for awhile (if only Tom Hanks had been co-piloting), I pulled into this deserted place, figuring that any Asian cuisine usually has something vegan on the menu. After the waitress assured me there was no meat, eggs, or dairy in this dish, I dug in! About five bites before I took this photo, actually. It was so rad, and not just because I was irrational with hunger. The veggies were crazy fresh and the noodles had a lovely scorched flavor from being pan fried. A little drizzle of their specialty teriyaki sauce made these spicy noodles just perfect.

20120913-224330.jpg
We then headed to Congress Theater so that I could pick up my Riot Fest wristband. Eeee!

20120913-224440.jpg
My friend Mike had told me months ago that I needed to hit up Handlebar while I was in Chicago, and after looking at the menu, I agreed! There are plenty of vegan options, from classic pub grub to Indian cuisine. They also serve fish, but our server was totally on the level and acted like duh when I made sure what I ordered was vegan, which I actually kind of appreciated.

20120913-224721.jpg
First we sipped on these tasty pale ales.

20120913-224803.jpg
I ordered the buffalo ‘chicken’ wrap, which I had decided weeks ago that I needed in my belly, and I’m damned glad that I did. Perfectly textured seitan tossed in a somewhat spicy buffalo sauce, wrapped up with romaine, tomatoes, and red onions, and topped off with their house made vegan ranch. So fresh and cool and spicy and chewy and just altogether satisfying. I got the collard greens as my side, and they were so garlicky that I sighed with relief as I tasted them. They were just a little bitter, so I didn’t finish them, but I needed room for another beer anyway.

20120913-225156.jpg
The boyfriend got the BBQ seitan sandwich and fries. We both agreed that my meal was better, but his was still good. It was just a little too heavy. The flavor of the BBQ was different, in a good way, and those fries were downright amazing. He also said that their house made pickles were really good, but I didn’t love them, but I’m not a huge pickle person.

All in all, our bellies were happy and full, which was good since we needed fuel for our long trek in the rain. Despite our misadventure, we are really looking forward to exploring tomorrow with a little more sleep and fully charged gps devices under our belts.

A couple more photos before I pass out.

20120913-225625.jpg
Window gazing.

20120913-225658.jpg
Restaurant happiness.

20120913-225731.jpg
Train station sanctuary.

See you tomorrow!
(p.s. I will be sure to update with links once I have the computer again. I don’t have the energy to do it from the iPod.)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2012 10:18 am

    Arrrrrgh. WHY does that restaurant serve FISH, of all things?

    • September 14, 2012 10:26 am

      I dunno. Why does any restaurant serve meat? But they are mostly vegetarian and had plenty of vegan options, so I felt spoiled for choice, considering my non-options in my town!

  2. September 17, 2012 10:15 pm

    Cuteness everywhere. The noodle dish looks awesome. I love the name of Handlebar, even with sort of snarky but probably kind of cool servers. Gotta get to Chicago myself one of these days.

Leave a Reply

