Skip to content

And Now That It’s Actually Soup Weather…

October 15, 2012

Let’s eat more soup.  I’ve become a soup-a-vore.  It’s all I want to eat, it’s all I want to cook.  I am eating more than just soup, but it’s rare that I don’t wish I was eating soup instead.  Have I lost it?  Probably.  But when I’m noshing on gorgeous creations like this:

I don’t really care whether or not I’ve lost it.

So, forever ago I bought an oyster mushroom kit from our local foods store.  It was a big box with beautiful illustrations of mushrooms on it, and the directions seemed simple enough (mist with water twice a day for 10 days, keep covered in a cool and dim spot), so I figured what the hell.  Granted, I could buy a good amount of oyster mushrooms for the $20 it cost me, but it’s about the experience, people.  Anyway, I misted dutifully for 10 days and nothing happened.  Not even a little budding of spores or whatever.  Irritated, I stopped misting and forgot about the whole thing for about a month.  Then about a week ago, I opened the closet with my neglected mushroom spores, and they were huge.  Like, creepy behemoth huge.  A lot of the larger parts had this white, foamy mold-looking stuff on them (+1 yummy!), so I tossed those, but underneath were smaller ‘shrooms that look just like the ones I buy in the grocery store!  This incredibly long story about impatience and neglect is a lead-in for telling you that my favorite way to eat oyster mushrooms is in ‘clam’ chowder.  I used to love me some clam chowder back in my meat-eating days, and when I discovered that oyster mushrooms have basically the exact same texture as clams (gross, but true) I was so pumped.  I used to make oyster mushroom chowder pretty regularly in my early vegan days, but it’s been awhile, and I was long overdue.

I had a basic idea of what I wanted my chowder to be like, but thought I should look at some recipes to make sure I was going to get the right consistency.  The closest I found to what I wanted was the shiitake mushroom chowder with sea vegetables from 30 Minute Vegan – potatoes, carrots, celery, onions, mushrooms, and plant milk.  Granted, it wasn’t exactly what I was looking for, so I changed it up, and now I’m going to let you see my version!  Obviously, instead of shiitakes, I used oyster mushrooms, but I also am a little sea vegetable sensitive (that fishy flavor that I once loved so much now can make my tummy weirded out if it’s too strong), so I substituted a little kelp powder for the arame.  Instead of making my own macadamia milk (wtf?) from the arame soaking water, I used plain, unsweetened almond milk.  Also, I was out of celery.  And I used different potatoes.  And I changed the method some.  Ok, now I’ll write all of that in a manner that makes sense.

Oyster Mushroom Chowder, adapted from 30 Minute Vegan

1 Tbsp olive oil

1 tsp salt (I used kosher, if you’re using a finer salt, start with 1/2 tsp and add more at the end if needed)

1 tsp freshly cracked black pepper

2 cups Yukon Gold potatoes, unpeeled and diced small (red potatoes would work well here too)

1 cup carrots, diced small

1 cup onion, diced small

3 large garlic cloves, minced

1 red bell pepper, diced small (or 2 teensy red bell peppers, which is what I had on hand)

3-4 cups oyster mushrooms, roughly chopped

1 Tbsp kelp powder

1/4 tsp celery seed

1 Tbsp nutritional yeast

2 Tbsp soy sauce

3 cups plain, unsweetened almond milk

1 cup water

1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley

This is supposed to be a 30 minute meal.  Normally, I do mise en place, and have everything chopped before I start adding things to the pot, but that method will slow you down here.  The idea is to get the heartier veggies (potatoes, carrots) into the pot and let them start cooking while you chop and add the other veggies.  Keeping that in mind…

Get your large soup pot going over medium-low heat (kind of more to the medium side, though, you want a sizzle) and add the potatoes, olive oil, salt, and pepper.  Keep the 1 cup of water nearby to add in drizzles in case things start to stick to the bottom of the pot as you go.  You may not use the entire 1 cup of water (I used about 3/4).  Stir it all up, then add the rest of the veggies as you chop them, stirring as you add them.  My order went carrots, onions, garlic, mushrooms, red bell peppers.  Next, add the kelp powder and celery seed and keep stirring occasionally and adding splashes of water as necessary until the veggies are fork tender.  Once they are, add the soy sauce, nutritional yeast, and almond milk.  Using an immersion blender, blend about 1/3 of the soup.  You want it to be smooth, but with nice chunks of potatoes, carrots, and mushrooms still floating around.  If you don’t have an immersion blender, transfer some of the soup to a food processor or blender, or just get an immersion blender already.  Finally, add the parsley and make sure everything is heated through.  Taste for salt.  (I used the entire tsp of salt and all of the soy sauce and it was perfect for me, but I like salt.  If you don’t, make sure you start with only 1/2 tsp salt at the beginning of the recipe.)  Devour.

This soup is somehow incredibly rich even though it’s relatively low in fat.  I think it has a lot to do with cooking the potatoes in the pan instead of simmering them.  I don’t know why, I just do.  The sea flavor is just barely noticeable, but is heightened by pairing the kelp powder with the parsley.  If you don’t like that particular flavor (I used to be in the same boat, friends!), leave out the kelp.  Easy peasy.  Here’s hoping this flavorful, filling chowder keeps you warm and cozy on a chilly night just like it’s doing for me tonight.

open wide!

Local: red bell peppers, oyster mushrooms, garlic.

I’m participating once again in Ricki’s Wellness Weekend!  Check out her post for lots of links to delicious, healthy recipes.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2012 8:27 pm

    I’ve always been torn between desire for and skepticism of those mushroom boxes, but now I think I’ll get one. I’ve been eating soup for most of this month too, so I’ll have to try yours when I harvest my mushrooms!

    • allularpunk permalink*
      October 15, 2012 9:16 pm

      Good luck with the mushrooms! I don’t know why mine took so much longer than the directions said.

  2. October 15, 2012 9:03 pm

    Great looking soup! I have been lusting over the homemade shroom kits, too, but have yet to buy one. Looks like I will need patience based on your experience. 🙂

  3. October 15, 2012 10:06 pm

    Looks great! I’m excited for you about those mushrooms. I want to try that too! I recently made manhattan Glam chowder from Appetite for Reduction, which uses shiitakes for the clams and that was really tasty too.
    Full force into soup season!

    • allularpunk permalink*
      October 16, 2012 8:15 am

      I’ve always been more of a New England style chowder person than a Manhattan style one, which would have been something else to talk about in this post, haha… But I still love chowders containing mushrooms, regardless!

  4. October 16, 2012 8:49 am

    I think Lewis Carroll said it best:

    Beautiful Soup – a poem by Lewis Carroll

    BEAUTIFUL Soup, so rich and green,
    Waiting in a hot tureen!
    Who for such dainties would not stoop?
    Soup of the evening, beautiful Soup!
    Soup of the evening, beautiful Soup!

    Beau–ootiful Soo-oop!
    Beau–ootiful Soo-oop!
    Soo–oop of the e–e–evening,
    Beautiful, beautiful Soup!

    Beautiful Soup! Who cares for fish,
    Game, or any other dish?
    Who would not give all else for two
    Pennyworth only of Beautiful Soup?
    Pennyworth only of beautiful Soup?

    Beau–ootiful Soo-oop!
    Beau–ootiful Soo-oop!
    Soo–oop of the e–e–evening,
    Beautiful, beauti–FUL SOUP!

  5. October 16, 2012 1:52 pm

    What a gorgeous soup! I’m with you, chica, bring on the soups! So so happy for you that the mushrooms decided to spore–you should be set with a lifetime supply now!

    • October 16, 2012 2:01 pm

      Yeah, there were lots of new little spores under the ones I cut off, so I put them back in the closet to forget about them for another month. I’m excited to see what happens!

  6. October 16, 2012 2:35 pm

    SOUP, man. I love the idea of a mushroom chowder! And I’m the only one in the house who can stand mushrooms, so it would be MINE ALL MINE HA HA HA. 🙂

  7. October 18, 2012 1:02 am

    My oh my, that looks like a fine bowl of soup!! I’m with you, I could eat soup all the time when the weather is cooperating.

    • October 18, 2012 9:24 am

      Lady, I eat soup constantly. I was forcing down hot bowls when it was over 90 degrees here this summer. I can’t stop myself!

  8. October 19, 2012 3:34 pm

    I just don’t think I’ll ever be able to get on board with oyster mushrooms, they’re just so creepy looking, like little space aliens.
    Leaving out the mushrooms, that soup looks all kinds of yummy.

    • October 19, 2012 9:43 pm

      I think all mushrooms look super creepy, but I overlook it because they are so tasty! That being said, perhaps you could substitute chickpeas or a different mushroom for the oyster ‘shrooms?

  9. October 21, 2012 6:30 pm

    Don’t feel bad; this just happened to me, but with two GIANT shiitake logs. Sigh. http://cracktheplates.com/2012/10/recent-food-and-frolic/

    adriennefriend

  10. August 3, 2014 10:14 pm

    I just made this. So Good! Thanks.

Trackbacks

  1. Vegan: 1, Meatatarian: 0 « cooking for the carnivore

Leave a Reply

