Skip to content

Spanish Tortilla. Ish.

September 5, 2014

I had a bad day yesterday, and after yoga I got a falafel wrap from our Mediterranean food truck (our only food truck!  Thank goodness it’s Mediterranean!) which was not terribly photogenic and also I just wanted to hide from the internet and watch football and not edit photos.  But today I’m back with one of my non-recipes!  Lucky you.

I was looking for something to feed the kids at work the other day and came across a Spanish Tortilla.  I’m not doing any research right now because it’s 85°F in my apartment and I’m lazy and just because, but from my understanding, a Spanish Tortilla is kind of like a frittata?  But, like, with potatoes?  So you sauté a bunch of veggies and potatoes in a skillet, then pour on some blegh egg mixture and let it cook.  A vegan version of that sounded just dandy to me, so I decided to make it happen! Of course, I made it after it got sorta darkish out and the only photo I have of it in the skillet was impossible to color correct, but, thus:

spanishtortilla4

I know, you’re saying, but that’s a quiche.  Except it’s not!  Because it doesn’t have a crust!  And…I don’t think I’ve ever seen a quiche with potatoes in it?  Anyway, this is what I did.  In my cast iron skillet (so it can go into the oven, too, plus it’s nonstick) I sautéed onions, an orange pepper, cubed yellow potatoes, the stems from swiss chard, and then the leaves of the chard once everything was close to cooked.  While that was going on, I pureed some stuff in the food processor: a box of firm silken tofu, a package of regular firm tofu, a ton of nooch, garlic and onion powder, smoked paprika, crushed red pepper, salt, and lemon juice.  Once the veggies were about done, I stirred the tofu mixture in, then popped it into a 375°F oven for about 30 minutes.

spanishtortilla3

Um, yum!  (I waited until it was brighter out to take the slice photos, obvs.)  Yeah, it holds together like a quiche, but this has so many potatoes in it that it’s way heartier than any quiche I’ve ever had.  (We’re talking about 5 fist-sized yellow potatoes…of course your hands are probably a different size from mine, but you get the idea?)

spanishtortilla2

You can see that after it sits for a bit, it slices really well.  I’ve mainly been eating it smushed up in a tupperware at work, though.  Also, this is totally customizable!  Throw in whatever veg you like.  Exchange spinach or kale for the chard, use red potatoes or (!!!) sweet potatoes, top it with fresh sliced garden tomatoes – whatever you’ve got handy, you can throw in here.  You can also adjust the flavors of your tofu puree.  I made mine really basic, just to see if it would work, but I can imagine it being lovely with a curry flavor (think Bombay potatoes) or a Mediterranean twist (kalamatas!).

And wouldn’t you say this would be a nice meal for a brunch?  In all honesty, I threw it together on the stove in about 15 minutes before it went into the oven.  You know, while you’re sautéing the onions and peppers, cut the potatoes, while the potatoes are cooking, cut up your greens, etc.  I don’t normally cook like that (I love mise en place!), but it really does work when you’re in a hurry.  Then once you get it in the oven, you can…I dunno, make pancakes or drink a mimosa or whatever.

Let me know what you think if you try it!

spanishtortilla1

14 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2014 8:29 pm

    Awesome! I’m gonna get some tofu and give this a try – seems like a nice, easy, throw it all in kind of meal (which is my kind of meal!)

    • September 6, 2014 10:02 am

      One pot (or pan, in this case) meals are the best! The fewer dishes I have to wash, the better.

  2. ameyfm permalink
    September 5, 2014 9:16 pm

    wow, that looks super good! I love the idea of adding in potatoes for a more substantial meal. I really love these tofu-veggie-quiche-type meals. All the yum in one.

    • September 6, 2014 10:02 am

      Potatoes are really great for that when you’re not in the mood for bread or pasta (it does happen…sometimes).

  3. September 5, 2014 9:17 pm

    This looks like a great way to make hearty breakfasts (something I sorely lack). Awesome post!

    • September 6, 2014 10:02 am

      Yeah, me too. Seriously, I’ve been eating leftover not dogs for breakfast this week, and eating this thing for lunch!

  4. September 5, 2014 10:59 pm

    This is awesome, I love stuff like this especially with chunks of potato 🙂

    • September 6, 2014 10:01 am

      I’m not always super keen on potatoes, but I’ve been in a real mood for them lately. Potato power!

  5. September 6, 2014 2:53 am

    Looks great, whatever it´s called 🙂 would also work very well with chickpea flour as the “eggy” part.

    • September 6, 2014 10:01 am

      I actually meant to add some chickpea flour to the tofu mixture to make it set up even better, but forgot. Next time!

  6. September 6, 2014 7:05 am

    This looks phenomenal. I cannot wait to try! xx B

  7. September 7, 2014 4:27 pm

    In Spain we use to make tortilla with eggs, potato and (optional) onion. Of course there are many vegans, so we have nice vegan spanish tortilla versions. Take a look to this tutorial on how to make vegan spanish tortillas: https://translate.google.com/translate?sl=es&tl=en&js=y&prev=_t&hl=es&ie=UTF-8&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.gastronomiavegana.org%2Ftutoriales%2Fcomo-hacer-tortillas-de-patatas-sin-huevos%2F&edit-text=&act=url

  8. October 7, 2014 2:04 pm

    I loved tortillas when I still ate eggs. There was one place in particular ij Spain, that had the best tortillas ever, it was so full of flavor and still a little bit goey on the inside (not too goey, cause that’s awful). I’m definitely going to try your vegan version!

  9. April 10, 2015 12:42 am

    I LIKE YOUR SITE THANK YOU FOR SHARIN.

Leave a Reply

